Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2013, 01:29 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

No Power to Outlets in Garage


Hi,

I live in a house which I purchased four months ago and was built in 2006 or thereabouts. For the first time this morning I tried to use one of the electrical outlets in the garage and was surprised to find that there was no power and that turns out that there is no power in any of the three outlets in the garage. When I plug in my cheapo outlet tester, none of the three lights illuminate, which according to their matrix indicates open hot, but obviously it also indicates no power. I took off the cover and verified that there were wires connected to the outlet and also of course checked to be sure that there were no circuits tripped.

I really have no idea how to diagnose this or proceed. How likely is it that the circuit was just never connected? Can anyone offer any suggestions short of calling a plumber? I really have need of one of those outlets so that I can plug my Harley into the battery tender

Thanks in advance.


Last edited by rs1971; 01-13-2013 at 01:55 PM. Reason: plumbers don't wire houses.
rs1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 01:48 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,987
Rewards Points: 3,090
Default

No Power to Outlets in Garage


I'm sure a plumber would get out of you giving him a call to come work on your wiring, but I'd be more likly to get good results by looking for the tripped GFI.
It could be an outlet at the begining of the line or a GFI breaker.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
rs1971 (01-13-2013)
Old 01-13-2013, 01:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

No Power to Outlets in Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
I'm sure a plumber would get out of you giving him a call to come work on your wiring
LOL. I just finished replacing some faucets and I have plumbers on the mind.
rs1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 02:03 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

No Power to Outlets in Garage


Look for a GFCI outlet in the garage (with test and reset buttons on them). "Murphy" says that outlet will be behind the largest pile of boxes and junk - the most difficult to move! Press Reset.

Sometimes garage door opener outlet.

If none found there, try pressing reset on outside outlets. Then basement. Then bathroom or anywhere else in the house where there is a GFCI outlet.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Billy_Bob For This Useful Post:
rs1971 (01-13-2013)
Old 01-13-2013, 02:10 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

No Power to Outlets in Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
but I'd be more likly to get good results by looking for the tripped GFI.
Thanks it was a tripped CGFI outlet. In my defense that had occurred to me but none of the outlets were CGFI. After having read your post I went out and had another look and sure enough it was hiding behind a set of plastic six foot shelves.

Thanks again.
rs1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 02:14 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,987
Rewards Points: 3,090
Default

No Power to Outlets in Garage


I've spent a whole day looking for one on a job we worked on.
All the outside lights, outlets and garage were on a GFI in the second story bathroom on the back side of the house.
Only GFI in the kitchen was for the referator, none on the counters.
Did not surprise me with all the other stuff we found.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 10:31 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No Power to Outlets in Garage


In our family room we were watching television power went out. Check breaker box. No thrown switches. We reset all breakers turn and off. I have 5 outlets dead. Do I start at switch box an work my way around
ad0an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 11:06 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,987
Rewards Points: 3,090
Default

No Power to Outlets in Garage


AdOn please go back and add your own post.
After that start doing what everyone suggested to the other poster, start looking for a tripped GFI.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lights turn on. No power to wall outlets StarStryker11 Electrical 4 01-01-2013 04:25 PM
Loss power To my Outlets. imfocused Electrical 5 07-17-2010 11:19 PM
No power to all outlets on circuit. noloawarfare Electrical 4 05-01-2010 04:41 PM
Wiring for switched, split power outlets ELurie Electrical 9 06-21-2007 07:12 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.