No Power To My Camp - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2009, 06:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No power to my camp


Last weekend my sister used a blow dryer at my camp and took down the power to the house. I reset the breaker numerous times but still nothing. The only thing that comes on is the refrigerator and one light in the kitchen. They are both on the same breaker which is a 15 amp breaker. Before I left, I turned off all the breakers except the one that is working. What could be happening and how do I go about troubleshooting this?

Advertisement

golfluva5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 07:45 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

No power to my camp


How big is the main feed?
On the main panel is the fridge on one side/hot feed & the rest of the house on another?
Did you check every outlet etc to make sure they did not have power?
I can see one leg being out
I can't see only 1 breaker working

Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 08:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No power to my camp


I have a 100 amp main feed. Not sure what you mean by "is the fridge on one side/hot feed & the rest of the house on another?"
"Did you check every outlet etc to make sure they did not have power?"
I will do that this weekend when I go up there. Should I just put the breakers back on and test each outlet with a voltage tester?
golfluva5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 08:23 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,378
Rewards Points: 3,550
Blog Entries: 4
Default

No power to my camp


Do you have a way to measure voltage? Measure from neutral to each side of the main breaker. Measure across the main breaker terminals.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 08:37 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No power to my camp


Yes I have a volt meter. So Put one side on the 120 volt main and the other on the neutral bus bar? I believe that is on the right side of the breaker box right?
golfluva5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 10:51 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,378
Rewards Points: 3,550
Blog Entries: 4
Default

No power to my camp


There will be 2 main lines. Each one should be 120 volts to neutral or ground.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 12:32 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No power to my camp


I tested both mains to ground. Readings were 17 volts and 2 volts. So I called the electric company and they came and tested power to the meter outside and said it was fine. Now there is a on/off breaker under the meter outside that feeds the breaker box inside which they said I own. So I took the cover off and tested both sides and got the same readings. I'm stumped at what could be happening. Could the meter not be working properly? Keep in mind, that I just went up there and replaced all the receptacles, which also did nothing.
golfluva5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 01:59 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

No power to my camp


Quote:
Originally Posted by golfluva5 View Post
I tested both mains to ground.
Readings were 17 volts and 2 volts.
So I called the electric company and they came and tested power to the meter outside and said it was fine. So I took the cover off and tested both sides and got the same readings.
You're right at the fault. It's between the good readings PoCo got and the low readings you got.
With current running into whatever still does work in your house measure the voltage across the closed breakers. It should be less than 1/10th volt but it's probably more like 100v.
It kinda' sounds like your breaker is bad or bolted connections are loose. Watch out for level 2 arc flash.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 05-17-2009 at 02:48 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2009, 07:51 PM   #9
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,378
Rewards Points: 3,550
Blog Entries: 4
Default

No power to my camp


Did you measure the input and output of the breaker? If there is no voltage on the input then call the POCO back and have them pull the meter. Sounds like the issue is in the meter base.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2009, 05:15 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 100
Rewards Points: 75
Default

No power to my camp


double check to make sure your voltmeter was set to AC voltage and not DC voltage...

Scratched my head for a few hours one time until I realized my mistake.

Advertisement

daxinarian is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
breaker pops , no power to circuits


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wring for Lincoln Power Mig Welder vstoyko Electrical 17 01-15-2009 07:15 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 10:58 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 02:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 11:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts