No Power - Maybe Bad Breaker - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2012, 05:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No Power - maybe bad breaker


Wow... I can't believe this happened, I was changiing an electric out let and acidently touched hot to ground with my pliers.... pow - no power.. I went out the electrical box and no braker was blown.... so I strated assessing the situation.

1. reset all breakers - still no luck
2. of couser my breaker are labels, tried to find the correct breaker, had it narrowed down to two - replace them both with new breakers. - still no power
3. checked a breakers with a tester all had power (not a meter)
4. made sure where I caused the problem the wires were not burnt. - all wiring in the area good.

It does look like my breakers is tripping, in fact none of my breakers are tripping but I have no power on the floor

could i have caused damaged in one of my other switches or lights


I think it will be time for an electician

Advertisement

James33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 05:58 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

No Power - maybe bad breaker


WHY were you working live???

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 06:49 PM   #3
Member
 
firehawkmph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Near Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,585
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

No Power - maybe bad breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by James33 View Post
Wow... I can't believe this happened, I was changiing an electric out let and acidently touched hot to ground with my pliers....

I think it will be time for an electician

Best advice is the line right above. You answered your own question.
Mike Hawkins
firehawkmph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 07:02 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Tooljedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No Power - maybe bad breaker


The outlet may be attached to a GFI Circuit....make sure that all of the GFI's in the area have all been reset...
Tooljedi is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Tooljedi For This Useful Post:
plummen (02-14-2012)
Old 02-13-2012, 07:13 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

No Power - maybe bad breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tooljedi View Post
The outlet may be attached to a GFI Circuit....make sure that all of the GFI's in the area have all been reset...
Not always the case if direct short the GFCI will not trip out fast so the breaker will trip out but due the OP say the breaker did not trip so there is two possility is that.,,

A) GFCI tripped ., well it depending on which circuit the OP is working on so that is a big iffy.

B) Loose or backstabbed connection. This is more common espcally right after a good short circuit it will happend anyway.

So if that the case the B is true you will have to check little closer to the rest of that affect circuit maybe you get lucky if you find it in one shot otherwise it will take time to find the curpit.

As far for GFCI it will be in bathroom or kitchen countertop or in garage or in basement so the location will varies a bit so you will have to find them even behind the bookcase or something you never move for many years and check it behind. ( I did found a GFCI in attic above the garage scuttle door )

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 08:30 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

No Power - maybe bad breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
B) Loose or backstabbed connection. This is more common espcally right after a good short circuit it will happend anyway.
Wish they would not make backstab devices. I think a good part of my parents house is that way. No power in a room and it's because the wires worked their way out.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 08:41 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,720
Rewards Points: 2,400
Default

No Power - maybe bad breaker


So is it only some area's that dont have power ?
Or is it whole house ?
It makes it harder when you dont know for sure
where the power originates from for those circuits !
Test the output side of all breakers with a tester !
Can you do this safely ?
Are you sure there are no other breakers or gfci's
hidden somewhere else in the house ?
Its not unusual to find unknown ones in
the most unexpected places !
search !
Otherwise could be a cable fault or loose connection !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 09:54 PM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

No Power - maybe bad breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston View Post
Wish they would not make backstab devices. I think a good part of my parents house is that way. No power in a room and it's because the wires worked their way out.
AFAIK ., for the duplex recepectale they will not take #12 awg anymore that did change sometime back but switch it kinda toss up depending where you buy it.

However yeah I wish they get rid of that crap just make a straight sidewired or backclampled. that will useally take care of it.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 07:45 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No Power - maybe bad breaker


Guys.. thanks for the responses and yes it was stupid to start this without turning off the power, I really just remove the cover and tried to look in the box to see what I was up against when my piers touched the hot by accident.... anyway it was stupid

There is no GFCI in the circuit that is impacted.

when you talk loose backstabbed connection is that in the outlet or the
breaker?

The power is only out in one section (I assume one breaker). Of course my labels have all wore off so last night I attempted to do an inventory of all 15 amp circuits... I have four I can't find - so it is one of those four?

I realize a circuit is wired from the hydro box to other outlets, switches and lights, could I have caused a problem in one of those devices? Could I have caused to my wiring that is hidden?


To answer the other questions...

Yes it is only one part of the house... I did test the output side of the breaker and it is hot (is that good just to know it is hot or could there be a problem with the number of volts it is outputing???? maybe a stupid question.
James33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 08:38 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,720
Rewards Points: 2,400
Default

No Power - maybe bad breaker


Do you have even any vague ideas where the power is sourced from ?
Can you physically follow the cables back to there source ?
I know it will be a pain, but it is the most positive way
to find the faulty section !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 08:43 PM   #11
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

No Power - maybe bad breaker


Start checking the plugs in the room to see which ones are dead then start at 1 end or the other and pull them out of the box and look for a burned jumper or wire

Advertisement

__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
help electrical wiring


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Power Breaker at Service Pole Trip Continually dens1 Electrical 15 11-26-2011 10:04 AM
Changing a breaker. Turn main power off first? noone Electrical 18 11-15-2011 08:08 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Checking a Breaker Klawman Electrical 11 02-18-2010 08:48 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts