Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2013, 02:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

No power to light switch


My first post so thanks in advance.

I replaced outlets and 1 light switch in my son's bedroom and one of the outlets had a lamp plugged in an is operated by the one switch. All the outlets work except the light switch so I tested the wires with a multimeter and I am not getting any readings. I also checked the outlets and i'm able to get a reading. I hope this all makes sense. Please help!

mlascano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 02:42 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,574
Rewards Points: 76
Default

No power to light switch


Was the receptacle only half switched? Did you break the tab between the screws on the gold side.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 02:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No power to light switch


Thank you for your reply.
I replaced the light switch with a Decora switch but when I removed the old switch I have to push in a small lever to release the black and white wires. Hope that helps.
mlascano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 02:57 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,101
Rewards Points: 98
Default

No power to light switch


Move to Electrical forum.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 03:32 PM   #5
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,644
Rewards Points: 46
Default

No power to light switch


I bet you threw out the old outlets already----if not look at them all and see if one of them has the gold tab removed between the gold screws.

That switch---what color wires go to it?

Does your house have Romex wiring or conduit?
__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oh'mike For This Useful Post:
mlascano (09-06-2013)
Old 09-05-2013, 04:21 PM   #6
Member
 
JuzRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: SC
Posts: 132
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No power to light switch


Mlascano: Did you rewire the switch, receptacle the same way you saw it before you changed it?

How many wires coming into the switch elect box?

It could be possibly a loose connection, or reverse neutral(meaning depending how many conductors you have coming into your switch), the white wire is your hot and the black is the switch leg.

But indeed if you can recall how many wires was coming in to the switch that's a start.
JuzRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 04:24 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No power to light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike
I bet you threw out the old outlets already----if not look at them all and see if one of them has the gold tab removed between the gold screws.

That switch---what color wires go to it?

Does your house have Romex wiring or conduit?
Oh mike,
I finally figured out what you were explaining about that tab because it was broken off of the old one and I did the same to the new one and IT WORKED!!! Thanks you so much! Just curious as to what the tab is for??
Thanks again!
mlascano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 05:54 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,574
Rewards Points: 76
Default

No power to light switch


It's so you can make the receptacle half switched just like you have.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 06:26 PM   #9
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,093
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No power to light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by mlascano View Post

Oh mike,
I finally figured out what you were explaining about that tab because it was broken off of the old one and I did the same to the new one and IT WORKED!!! Thanks you so much! Just curious as to what the tab is for??
Thanks again!
The tab interrupts the power supply.
So one outlet is always hot and the other is only hot when the switch is in the on position, when wired correctly.

sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light fan burn out, wall switch backwards later LOYD DUNCAN Electrical 1 09-18-2012 06:49 AM
3 and 4 way switches - power to first light mmrossen Electrical 3 12-04-2011 09:07 PM
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-08-2011 11:00 PM
no power to light switch and all breakers good mjsoma Electrical 4 10-02-2010 09:03 AM
new light and switch problem please help rebelbull Electrical 1 10-02-2009 06:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.