No Power Going To Light Switches - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2013, 04:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No power going to light switches


hi,

I was trying to replace a dimmer switch in my hallway and I did something wrong. When I turned on the dimmer, there was a small explosion and a bit of smoke came out of the dimmer switch.

Since then a couple of other light switches have stopped working. I used a voltage tester to check the light switches and there is no power going to them.

I had changed light switches before and haven't had any problems, but I have no idea how to fix the problem Im having now. I don't really know the lingo but I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction and I could fix this without hiring an electrician.

Advertisement

DIYnoob4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 04:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,701
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

No power going to light switches


1- remove faulty dimmer !
2 -put all wiring back the way it was before !
3- check for power again.

If none -
check all breakers
some breakers can be tripped without looking like it is so !
so turn any possible breakers off, then back on again.

Check for inline gfci's.
check and reset any gfci's that may be possible.

report findings !

Advertisement

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 05:12 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No power going to light switches


I have removed the dimmer.

I tried resetting all the breakers. I noticed that some of the lights that are on the same breaker as the faulty lights do work.

As for an inline gfci i do not see one, although im a noob and might be missing it

Still no power
DIYnoob4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:55 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

No power going to light switches


What colour conductor at the switch box?

Do it have two black conductors ?

Do it have Black et White conductors?

Or have extra conductor like three way switch set up ??

Now next step after you have something blow that hard useally tell that something did miswired so check the connection carefull and see any burnt marks there to determed what it caused.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
confusion with track light stephenbishop Electrical 7 03-10-2012 02:37 PM
Light controlled by switch, outlet always on, power at light...is this the way? pureevil Electrical 6 11-07-2010 06:32 PM
Grabbing power from a light switch box RedBear Electrical 3 01-13-2010 02:28 PM
2 switches 2 lights line in through light 1 bldaz Electrical 9 12-24-2009 07:42 PM
light switches wired in series -- why? magnolia Electrical 2 05-11-2008 12:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts