Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2012, 06:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

No power to the Furnace.


I seem to be having more trouble with this furnace. Now it doesnt have any power. It was running fine this morning, but this evening it stopped. I went down to it and noticed there was no power. I checked the fuses all checked out fine (Going into town tomorrow to get more fuses just in case.) Other then that I checked to power from the fuse box to the one unit it checked out 120 v. From there I went to the one for the chip panel and I didnt get anything. Did the switch go bad? I'm not all that sure. Any help would be great!

Hawkeye40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:55 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

No power to the Furnace.


Most furnaces have a disconnect, usually a standard switch. I would look to see if that was accidentally turned off.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:16 PM   #3
Tool Geek
 
PaliBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,488
Default

No power to the Furnace.


Hawk you did not say anything about what type Thermostat?
  1. Mercury Contact (older style)
  2. Mechanical Contact
  3. Digital
  4. Electronic Programmable
There is also a Line Voltage type.
These kind of Problems can more often be solved with a picture.
Compare it to seeing the doctor or asking him to diagnose you by E-Mail.
Can you include a Pic?
If You don't know how, Give a shout-out.
__________________
Disclaimer
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:05 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Default

No power to the Furnace.


It is a mercury thermostat what i dont get is it was working today
Hawkeye40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:21 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Default

No power to the Furnace.


I checked that which made me think it was a bad wire but it read 120 v when I hooked up my volt meter.
Hawkeye40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:27 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

No power to the Furnace.


You checked what? the switch/disconnect? the t-stat?

What are you using to check for power?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:28 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

No power to the Furnace.


see below for correct comment
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )

Last edited by frenchelectrican; 11-06-2012 at 02:34 AM. Reason: fixed the comment plus computer trick moi
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 02:33 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

No power to the Furnace.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeye40 View Post
It is a mercury thermostat what i dont get is it was working today
That part is fine so let hold that for a moment what brand furance you have there ? More details will help us to give us a idea what to do with troubleshooting.

But for myself one of few most common curpit is bad transfomer which I have see it once a while but just be aware they look simauir to the doorbell transfomer but the voltage and wattage is differnt the the common doorbell transfomer is ( HVAC units useally run with 24 volt secondary side with 40 Va rating but some are more larger depending on model itself )

The circuit board most case they usealy have a fuse there so if blowen you may have to replace the fuse but one warning if that fuse blow again do not do any thing else more just call in the HVAC tech there is few special prodcure the HVAC tech have to go thru to make sure nothing else is damaged.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:36 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Default

No power to the Furnace.


It's a Nordyne not sure of the model. I'll be taking a trip to get a fuse today hope that settles it. The fuse didn't look like it was blown but never know.
Hawkeye40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:37 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Default

No power to the Furnace.


The transformer? Gonna have to look at some layouts then I'm not all that sure what it looks like
Hawkeye40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:10 AM   #11
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

No power to the Furnace.


Is this a new home?
Since you're talking fuses I'll guess older home.
Do you have a fuse with the disconnect for the furnace? SSU switch
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 07:55 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Default

No power to the Furnace.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeye40 View Post
The transformer? Gonna have to look at some layouts then I'm not all that sure what it looks like
Here's a picture of some typical transformers. Sometimes the transformer itself will be mounted inside a small enclosure.
Attached Images
 
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:26 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Default

No power to the Furnace.


Thanks, I found it luckily I'm not sure though if that is the problem. Could a bad transformer completely kill all the power?
Hawkeye40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:33 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Default

No power to the Furnace.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeye40 View Post
Thanks, I found it luckily I'm not sure though if that is the problem. Could a bad transformer completely kill all the power?
In older homes, the primary use was to provide low voltage AC to the thermostat (rather than have the thermostat switch 120V). Nowadays, with more sophisticated control systems, it could also be used to produce the low voltage DC that most semiconductors require.

But I don't think that feeder power (coming from your fuse panel) would be affected. The furnace wouldn't work, but it would have power.
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:50 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Default

No power to the Furnace.


Dave,
So what your saying is the furnace still has power its just the transformer is not allowing it to be on? If that is the case then I'll start looking for a new one. Gotta act quick apparently we are getting a Noreaster here. Of course the wife is complaining.

Hawkeye40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
furnace power wiring question w/photo pirateplow HVAC 1 12-17-2011 06:32 AM
Furnace fan power consumption? DIYGST Electrical 5 04-19-2010 01:00 PM
Gas Furnace Power Venter Problem JoBlowHomeOwner HVAC 6 10-17-2009 09:05 PM
furnace or electrical help tuasoi Electrical 13 11-29-2007 12:53 PM
furnace and or electrical problems tuasoi General DIY Discussions 4 11-29-2007 12:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.