Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-08-2012, 07:36 AM   #1

Share |
Question

no power in detatched garage after buying home

hello! this is my first time on your site, and im hoping to get some answers, with what little info i have. please forgive that i do not know all of the specifics.we just bought the home in october, and are first time buyers so we are kin of learning as we go. Ok here is what is going on, and what i know so far.

house was built in 1915
was gutted and completely renovated in 1988
the detached garage was built some time after renovation
powerlines to the garage are run under ground and inside PVS pipe
the garage has an automatic door, a big gas heater from the ceiling and a million different lights and light switches.
when we looked at the house thinking about buying it i know that the lights atleast worked, i personally turned them on.
the seller had the power turned off a few days before we bought it
the day we moved in i went to the garage and nothing worked...however if you turn on the switches it registers on the meter at the house as if everything works.
i have flipped the switches to the breaker in the garage, but i have not flipped any at the house.
they were all labeled and none said anything about the garage so i did not touch them.

I have an infant, so i am unable to go see what brands or voltages everything is at the moment, im sorry.

based on the information provided could anyone help?
thanks and have a great day!

MrsFixIt88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:12 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrsFixIt88 View Post