Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2010, 09:23 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

No power to all outlets on circuit.


Just moved in to an apartment. Hooked up a power strip with a computer and monitor on it to outlet. Worked foer about ten minutes until internal fan kicked on. Outlet stopped working. Tried another outlet in room would no work. Tried third outlet in room with clock did not work. Went down to check breakers, none was tripped. Determined which breaker controled outlets in room from panel markings. Turned off and on a couple of times. Still no power. Checked all outlets on circuit none had power. unplugged power strip. About half hour later outlets had power then shut back off about a minute later. Checked breaker again, still no trip. Later that night power came on again to outlets. Then shut back off. Decided to try outlet off different circuit to run computer, no problems. So what might be the problem. Any help is greatly appreciated.
noloawarfare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 09:34 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

No power to all outlets on circuit.


Step 1 - Check for any GFCI receptacles. Push test and then reset. If you have no GFCI, proceed as follows.
Step 2 - Try to find the first one (receptacle) in the string (circuit). The first one from the panel. Check the connections and check the voltage. If you have no power go back to the panel and check the breaker for power. If you have no power on the breaker terminal the breaker could be bad.

I would contact the property manager before I did anything. This is their problem, not yours.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 10:22 AM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,679
Default

No power to all outlets on circuit.


Check the outlet strip. May be off or needs resetting.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 11:32 AM   #4
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 188
Default

No power to all outlets on circuit.


Call your landlord. It's their responsibility to take care of issues like this. That's why you pay rent.
Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 04:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

No power to all outlets on circuit.


Don't connnect any electronics that you value until this problem is fixed
Call the landlord & have them fix it
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch turns off power to remainder of circuit jbitt Electrical 3 01-11-2010 05:50 PM
Open circuit has power, close the circuit no power??? BeginnerHomeDIY Electrical 7 07-08-2009 02:40 PM
Electrical - Outlets with no power jogan Electrical 5 05-05-2009 02:06 PM
How many outlets on a circuit? 737Pilot Electrical 8 09-05-2008 07:56 PM
outlets lost power Hoegy Electrical 5 11-06-2007 02:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.