Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2011, 04:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no neutral, hot on both sides


Ok I have a strange one here. We have been having a problem at our house that at times the master bedroom will loose power. The breaker does not trip, and other things on that breaker continue to work. This usually happens when something is plugged into the outlet near our door, so I took that outlet apart and all 3 wires going to the outlet were connected wrong and loose, I connected all properly and reinstalled. we had no problems for 2 months. today I installed a new light fixture, very simple install. Removed old lamp attached power wire, neutral wire and ground wire all as they had been connected. Now we are back to square one nothing works in the room at all. I tested with my DVOM and both wires at all the non-working outlets, switches and light fixture have 120volts. Both the neutral and hot wires have 120volts. This is very strange to me, I can't figure it out. The breaker does not blow and the outlets outside the room still work. Any suggestions? Thanks

stingry331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 04:27 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

no neutral, hot on both sides


Sounds like a loose neutral somewhere in the circuit.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 04:55 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no neutral, hot on both sides


I think you are right I just can't figure out where? Any suggestions on how to find it?
stingry331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 04:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,665
Rewards Points: 2,290
Default

no neutral, hot on both sides


DITTO !
loose connection somewhere,
Or a faulty cable (broken internally).
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 05:39 PM   #5
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,559
Rewards Points: 2,014
Default

no neutral, hot on both sides


Quote:
Originally Posted by stingry331 View Post
I think you are right I just can't figure out where? Any suggestions on how to find it?
When the problem occurs, check the voltage between neutral and ground EVERYWHERE on the circuit that you can access. Each receptacle, each light fixture, etc. If you find any locations where the neutral does not read 120V to ground, then you know the open neutral is between that device and the rest of the circuit, and that gives you somewhere to start looking.

Since it sounds like the entire circuit may be affected, you might want to check the neutral connection in the panel first.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 07:15 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

no neutral, hot on both sides


Quote:
Originally Posted by stingry331 View Post
I think you are right I just can't figure out where? Any suggestions on how to find it?
Start at the last place you worked.
If it was working correctly for 2 months after you fixed it, and you installed a new light, that has to be where the problem is.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 07:30 PM   #7
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,159
Rewards Points: 3,112
Blog Entries: 4
Default

no neutral, hot on both sides


If you know how the cabling is routed around the room the problem is in the last working device or the first not working device. Yes that is correct. The problem could be in a working device box.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:18 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no neutral, hot on both sides


Thank You everyone for your help. I finally found the problem. I did not know how the wiring was routed so I was having a hard time figuring out which item was the first to not work. I was trying to trace the wiring in the basement. I ended up finding a wire nut connection inside the light switch box in the bathroom was loose. Thanks again for all the help.

stingry331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Induction Cooktop, no neutral (?!) andersol Electrical 7 09-28-2010 04:47 PM
question on the "stubbie" bonding links n175h Electrical 12 10-13-2009 05:09 PM
Main disconnect neutral wiring Daniel Holzman Electrical 5 10-04-2009 02:36 PM
GFCI feeing subpanel question scott2332 Electrical 45 02-28-2009 04:15 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 05:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.