Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2012, 06:53 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northeast of Boston
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

No neutral on A/C disconnect for GFCI


Gurus,

So this is weird. I have a Pullout A/C disconnect as some of you may know from my previous posts/threads and we wired it over the weekend. I installed the 30Amp double pole GFCI breaker because the disconnect is outside. However, there's no neutral on the disconnect. Just the two line in (Hot) and ground lugs. Granted I only used 10/2 wire and was going to run another THWN strand but realized I don't need to do this. I will say though that I used 10/2 UF cable the last 5 feet. Then spliced to Junction box in basement. From there ran the 10/2 NM-B to panel.

So even though I got a GFCI breaker with no neutral attached, I've heard it will still sense a current imbalance or a short? Plus it's 240v whereas GFCI is more for 120v or 120/240v?? I tied the pigtail off the breaker to the neutral lug on panel? Should I just go get a 30A double pole standard breaker, swap them out and save the GFCI?
Thanks,
~S

Skelleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 06:57 AM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

No neutral on A/C disconnect for GFCI


GFCI protection for the AC unit is not needed. Waste of money. Return if possible.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (05-11-2012)
Old 05-07-2012, 06:59 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

No neutral on A/C disconnect for GFCI


Agreed, there is no requirement or need for the GFI protection on the 240 volt circuit for the A/C.

Yes a GFI will work without a neutral. It is done this way on hot tubs that are straight 240 units.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (05-11-2012)
Old 05-07-2012, 07:01 AM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,107
Rewards Points: 2,124
Default

No neutral on A/C disconnect for GFCI


An AC compressor does not require GFCI regardless were the disconnect is located.

A 2 pole GFCI does not require a neutral to work, it senses any unbalance between the 2 hot legs.

BTW most current codes call for a 120 volt GFCI receptacle within 15 feet of an outside compressor. For maintenance purposes.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:04 AM   #5
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

No neutral on A/C disconnect for GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
An AC compressor does not require GFCI regardless were the disconnect is located.

A 2 pole GFCI does not require a neutral to work, it senses any unbalance between the 2 hot legs.

BTW most current codes call for a 120 volt GFCI receptacle within 15 feet of an outside compressor. For maintenance purposes.

25 feet. 210.63
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
brric (05-07-2012), gregzoll (05-11-2012), NJMarine (05-07-2012), rjniles (05-07-2012)
Old 05-07-2012, 07:12 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northeast of Boston
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

No neutral on A/C disconnect for GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
25 feet. 210.63
Thanks, There's already a GFCI outlet actually is either 10-15 feet away but well within the 25 foot requirement/code so I'm good there.
Skelleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 12:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northeast of Boston
Posts: 80
Rewards Points: 75
Default

No neutral on A/C disconnect for GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
An AC compressor does not require GFCI regardless were the disconnect is located.

A 2 pole GFCI does not require a neutral to work, it senses any unbalance between the 2 hot legs.

BTW most current codes call for a 120 volt GFCI receptacle within 15 feet of an outside compressor. For maintenance purposes.
Thanks, so aside from spending the extra $40 for the GFCI breaker, will it suffice or will it be too sensative and trip often for the AC condenser. It's been in about a week and no issues yet. However, we only ran it 30-60 minutes at the complete of the install so the installer could verify and check functionality.
Thanks,
Skelleyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 02:30 PM   #8
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 250
Default

No neutral on A/C disconnect for GFCI


it all depends on how much internal leakage the compressor motor has when it starts up. you may not have problems now but as the compressor nears the end of its life it may have issues

An AC compressor operates strictly on 240 volts and so a neutral is not required.

The low voltage wire is a relay that switches the 240 volt power on and off at the unit.

The disconnect switch needs to be a 2 pole and rated for a disconnect.

Personally, I would return that gfci and just make sure the unit and disconnect are properly grounded.

I rewired my house last year and every breaker is GFCI or AFCI except:

AC 2 pole 30 amp
Stove 2 pole 50 amp
refgrigerator dedicated single pole 15 amp\


Last edited by kevinp22; 05-11-2012 at 02:34 PM.
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bond subpanel Neutral directly to SE neutral using split bolt? Sierevello Electrical 1 01-30-2011 08:08 PM
MWBC bad neutral test results! kbsparky Electrical 15 04-06-2010 08:44 AM
GFCI feeing subpanel question scott2332 Electrical 45 02-28-2009 03:15 PM
Suspected open/loose service neutral mrtomwj Electrical 5 09-28-2006 08:46 AM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.