No Grounding Wire Or Already Hooked? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2009, 02:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no grounding wire or already hooked?


My home inspector found the bare ground wire from the main switch box was cut near the ground, he said the ground wire end should go under 4feet in the ground. However, I found out later the wire is side-connected to a TV cable line which goes deep in the ground, is the home inspector wrong or I still need to get this corrected?

Advertisement

sfcdmu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 04:33 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

no grounding wire or already hooked?


The SE ground should be connected directly to the grounding rod. It can share the rod with the TV antenna ground, but it must not be broken or spliced between the panel and the rod, and must have its own ground clamp on the rod.
It is OK for the TV antenna ground to be connected to the SE ground though.
The ground rod must be driven into the ground at least 8 ft.

If there is a metallic water pipe coming into the house, there must also be a ground from the SE panel (separate from the one to the ground rod I believe) to the street side of the cold water pipe.
There must also be a jumper around the water meter and/or any non-metallic parts in the cold water supply so that the entire water supply system is at ground potential.
In addition, there must be a jumper across the hot water heater (from cold inlet to hot outlet) (assuming that metallic pipes are used).

I am not sure what the gauge of the grounding wire must be, but I am sure someone will add that.

FW

Advertisement

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 07:05 PM   #3
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,299
Rewards Points: 1,050
Default

no grounding wire or already hooked?


KE2KB, are you quoting NEC or local codes on the jumper wire around the water meter? I don't know what good that would do around here, all water service piping leaving the main is plastic, and then PVC from the meter to the home(s). I've never seen the jumper on the water heater piping here either. Not to say it may not be NEC and no one follows it, these may be local codes in your area. Thanks, David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 07:10 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

no grounding wire or already hooked?


Cold water pipe within 5' of where it enters the house only if metal and in contact with the earth for more than 10'
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 07:30 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

no grounding wire or already hooked?


Could be a lot of things.

A home inspector doesn't know enough to tell you what needs to be done. Call an electrician for the whole stoty.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 07:35 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

no grounding wire or already hooked?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Could be a lot of things.

A home inspector doesn't know enough to tell you what needs to be done. Call an electrician for the whole stoty.
OORAH Go to inspectorsjournal.com and they say different
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 07:41 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

no grounding wire or already hooked?


The "it should go 4' in the ground" was kind of a tip off.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 10:04 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no grounding wire or already hooked?


here is the site picture. Do I need to install a grounding rod?

sfcdmu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2009, 10:43 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

no grounding wire or already hooked?


Not enough info. I need to see the whole system.

Call an electrician. Most still give free estimates.

You need.

1. Water bond. (wire from the neutral bus in the panel to the water piping system)

2. Gas bond.(wire from the neutral bus in the panel to the gas piping system)

3. Grounding conductor (wire from the neutral bus in the panel to the ground rods or rebar in the footing) In some cases (not in my area) the water pipe can be used in lieu of ground rods/ufer ground.

The stuff the cable[telco company hooks up is to bond their stuff to the electrical system.

Last edited by 220/221; 04-01-2009 at 10:50 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 12:09 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

no grounding wire or already hooked?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman View Post
KE2KB, are you quoting NEC or local codes on the jumper wire around the water meter? I don't know what good that would do around here, all water service piping leaving the main is plastic, and then PVC from the meter to the home(s). I've never seen the jumper on the water heater piping here either. Not to say it may not be NEC and no one follows it, these may be local codes in your area. Thanks, David
2005 NEC 250.104 section A(1) pretty much states that metal water piping needs to be bonded to the SE grounding system.
The conductor bypassing the water meter is apparently required in my case because the SE grounding conductor is bonded on the street side of the meter, and the meter cannot be part of the grounding system.

I have to look further for the requirement on bypassing the water meter, but I would think that if the entire metallic piping system needs to be bonded to the SE ground, then the bypass is necessary for the same reason that the water meter bypass is required.

I believe I did say that this applies only if pipe is metallic. Of course on a PVC or PEX system, this is not applicable.
I'll have to check the code. I may be reading 2008 code, which has not yet been adopted by many states/localities.

Regardless of code, wouldn't you think it is good practice to install the jumpers in these situations?

FW
__________________


Last edited by KE2KB; 04-02-2009 at 12:22 PM.
KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2009, 01:31 PM   #11
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

no grounding wire or already hooked?


The rule of thumb is, if it's big, and it's metal, it should be bonded.

Advertisement

Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Grounding Wire Size jamiedolan Electrical 10 01-17-2009 11:53 AM
romex with thin grounding wire dogbone Electrical 16 01-10-2009 09:40 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Grounding conduit instead of using a ground wire? stringtheories Electrical 10 08-02-2008 01:42 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 02:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts