Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2006, 09:46 PM   #1
bjp
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No Electricity In Some Rooms


I got home today and discovered that all of the bathrooms in my house suddenly have no electricity. So I checked the circuit breaker box and none of them had been tripped. Regardless, I turned all of them off and then back on one at a time to no avail.

Is there any option for me other than to call an electrician?

Thanks,

-- Brian

bjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 10:03 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

No Electricity In Some Rooms


Did you reset the GFCI?

redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 10:11 PM   #3
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

No Electricity In Some Rooms


Sometimes, the bathrooms GFCI is installed in the garage or basement. I've seen this enough times for me to recommend that you search the garage or basement (even behind junk) for a tripped GFCI.
mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 10:37 PM   #4
bjp
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No Electricity In Some Rooms


Hmmm, I just looked around and I don't see anything. But then again I don't know what a GFCI even looks like. (they don't call me a newbie for nothing!).

-- Brian
bjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2006, 10:39 PM   #5
bjp
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No Electricity In Some Rooms


I finally found some pictures on the Internet and there's nothing like that around. I looked behind stuff and in the garage and just don't see one.

-- Brian
bjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 07:09 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

No Electricity In Some Rooms


Since this is just all the bath receptacles I agree. There HAS to be a tripped GFI somewhere.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 10:32 AM   #7
I blame ProWallGuy
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 244
Rewards Points: 150
Default

No Electricity In Some Rooms


Did you check your outdoor receptacles for a tripped GFCI?

Double A is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outside corners to two different baseboard rooms cygnusx1 Flooring 6 03-04-2009 06:58 PM
? about 70's cape and how to open rooms angelonbreak Remodeling 3 04-25-2007 08:59 AM
Old A/C use more electricity than old A/C? clue89 Electrical 4 03-02-2007 05:47 AM
how many circuts, 2 rooms jamesdart Electrical 7 06-07-2006 05:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.