Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-17-2012, 06:27 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no electricity


Why won't my Briggs and straton 5500 generator generate any electricity?

tellenwood2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 07:36 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

no electricity


Main breaker is off, GFCI tripped, out of gas, .... there could be lots of reasons ...

How long has it been since you used it?

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 08:22 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,161
Rewards Points: 678
Default

no electricity


It's also possible that the field needs a little "kick start" if you haven't used the generator in a while. Run it at full speed with a load on it and see if it comes back after a few minutes. If you have a volt meter on the generator and it is reading very low that it a good indication that the field lost its residual magnetism.
zappa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 04:26 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

no electricity


Quote:
Originally Posted by tellenwood2 View Post
Why won't my Briggs and straton 5500 generator generate any electricity?
It's probably broken.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 05:06 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

no electricity


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
It's probably broken.
Isn't this a little too technical for this forum?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 05:13 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

no electricity


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Isn't this a little too technical for this forum?
Well, I wanted to put as much effort into my reply as the OP did into his question. I figured that was only fair.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running electricity to kitchen island michaelkingdom Electrical 16 03-11-2012 10:26 PM
What requires electricity? pcampbell HVAC 3 11-05-2011 11:39 AM
Installing an electricity monitor sensor inside my fuse box - which wire? nickday Electrical 5 04-17-2011 01:10 AM
No electricity in half the room (somewhat complicated) jimbob8690 Electrical 1 07-13-2010 03:23 PM
Electricity to barn Sherdogmma2010 Electrical 12 09-05-2008 06:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.