No Current - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2012, 02:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No current


In my bathroom I have a ceiling fan that is fan,heater,light. It stopped working the other day. I can not find and power coming or going from the switch? I think I found the feed line but no current. How does on trace a feed line with no current coming from it?

Advertisement

DCFear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 03:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,051
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

No current


Have you checked the circuit breaker for that line to see if it tripped?
May be fed from an GFCI outlet (wrongly) that has tripped. Try resetting your outlets.

Advertisement

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 03:45 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No current


Bob, Thanks for the quick repley. I forgot to mention the big problem is I can't figure out which breaker this line goes to. The person that wired this bathroom never marked anything.
DCFear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 04:01 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,051
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

No current


Usually the breaker handle of the one that tripped is off line from the others. Look in your panel to see if one is out of line; it will likely be the one.
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 10:00 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No current


Bob, All the breakers are on. When I put a test light on the feed line in the bathroom I get nothing. I have tried all combination on wires?I was wondering if there is a way to see why none of the wires are "Hot"?
DCFear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 10:02 AM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,431
Rewards Points: 2,524
Default

No current


Can you get to the fan unit from above? Most likely you are dealing with a "Switch leg". Post pictures of the outlet box.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 10:05 AM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

No current


By removing the trim the OP should be able to remove the cover to the wiring junction box.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 11:03 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No current


Thanks guys, I have all the switches removed. All the wires are free I have put my tester on all the wires in different combinations. Even tried a black to black and a white to white nothing happening and it is weird it happen all of a sudden everything was working fine. The unit is old and my first though was the switches or the unit itself is bad but not being able to get any electricity to the switch it self has me very confused.
DCFear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 11:44 AM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,431
Rewards Points: 2,524
Default

No current


Again, we need pictures. And also, I would go down and cycle each breaker, then go from there. Post a picture of both the outlet box that the switches are in, and the junction box that the wires are sticking out of, at the unit.

There can also be a junction point somewhere, that the connection "blew" apart due to overload. Especially if the person that wired it, either did not use wire nuts, by taping, or used the incorrect sized wire nuts.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
DCFear (06-16-2012)
Old 06-18-2012, 01:03 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No current


Thanks to Gregzoll I found the problem with the no currant. No I can't remember how to reinstall the wires to the switch or the fan itself. The unit is at lease 25 years old Air Care Industries AC 2000 . Has a Fan,Heater and Exhaust Fan. The Switch looks like 3 switchs.
DCFear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 01:19 PM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,431
Rewards Points: 2,524
Default

No current


If you post pictures, we can help.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 01:48 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No current


took pictures how do I post them on this site?

Advertisement

DCFear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can someone tell me why my low voltage lights are reading high current at the switch? kmc Electrical 5 06-04-2012 10:38 PM
utility neutral/neutral current question kevinp22 Electrical 24 04-24-2012 08:43 PM
AFCI Breakers Keep Tripping mopowers Electrical 12 09-04-2009 04:11 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 05:58 PM
Sub panel grounding sluggermike Electrical 27 11-11-2007 02:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts