Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2008, 03:38 PM   #1
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

no cover plate outlets, code?


is there code yet on these? ok to install? i like the look.

http://bocci.ca/?#/22-standard/

DM
Attached Thumbnails
no cover plate outlets, code?-flush-outlets.jpg  

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2008, 04:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

no cover plate outlets, code?


Interesting.

took me a moment to figure out the concept. suppose to mud the whole panel, which is how you avoid seeing the edge of the drywall.


based on the installation video, this area of the wall would stick out a bit... but thats how it works with cover plates today..

might be tough to buy them. be interesting to know if anyone had experience with the product.

sunthas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 04:35 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no cover plate outlets, code?


Those are crazy!!! The other things on that site are great
cambruzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 05:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: north east
Posts: 728
Rewards Points: 500
Default

no cover plate outlets, code?


If you cover over the box with compound, in effect you would be making the electrical box inaccessible, they do look cool though
__________________
LIVING THE DREAM
DUDE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 07:18 PM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

no cover plate outlets, code?


they come out with wiring accessible, no? i don't think they could make them if they wouldn't pass code.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 07:45 PM   #6
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

no cover plate outlets, code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
i don't think they could make them if they wouldn't pass code.

DM
Really? Seriously?
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 11:36 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

no cover plate outlets, code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DUDE! View Post
If you cover over the box with compound, in effect you would be making the electrical box inaccessible, they do look cool though
The box itself does not have to be accessible, the wiring inside it does.

IRC E3805.10: ...outlet boxes shall be installed so that the wiring therein can be accessed without removing any part of the building...

As much as I don't like the idea, I don't see any reason they could be prohibited unless there was any wiring or connection in the box that could not be accessed through the hole. That's a pretty subjective call.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 11:38 PM   #8
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

no cover plate outlets, code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
Really? Seriously?
You'd be suprised at the amount of non-rated fixtures that get installed in homes. I've found several light fixtures in the last few years that didn't have listings and didn't comply with code for various reasons. Most were from China and were junk.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 12:21 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 34
Rewards Points: 25
Default

no cover plate outlets, code?


it appears to come with a tool, you can pull out the socket and all the wires and the connection just like any outlet.
sunthas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 08:33 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: coastal georgia
Posts: 371
Rewards Points: 250
Default

no cover plate outlets, code?


Those are sweet. Thanks for posting DM.
7echo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 08:41 PM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,337
Rewards Points: 2,336
Default

no cover plate outlets, code?


A nice shiny metal tool at that. http://bocci.ca/downloads/22.3removal.pdf
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 09:34 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

no cover plate outlets, code?


Oh, these look good, but I would just stick with normal receptacles.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 06:52 AM   #13
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

no cover plate outlets, code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 7echo View Post
Those are sweet. Thanks for posting DM.
np, i thought so too!

would it be better to cut a square in the drywall and sink it in, then mud flat, or not? i don't do much drywall normally, but i do know i don't like mounds and feathering you can easily see. i know peeling the paper will be a big nono here, but i just don't like the idea of mudding it the other way.

anyone see a price for these anywhere? UL approval anywhere?

on dialup, i can barely see the main page on the site.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 12:14 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no cover plate outlets, code?


Although very cool looking, I doubt practical in normal applications.

Maybe cool for galleries and such that have to have outlets visible - something unusual and cool to look at.

Neat concept, but probably going to also cost an arm and a leg for the outlets..
s_anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 12:47 PM   #15
K&B Remodeler/Tile Guy
 
angus242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Illinois
Posts: 887
Rewards Points: 500
Default

no cover plate outlets, code?


Quote:
Originally Posted by DangerMouse View Post
anyone see a price for these anywhere? UL approval anywhere?
Yes, their website says "...may now be mounted flush with drywall or millwork with a new CSA and UL approved utility system..."

A little investigation and I found a site that shows a guy installing them (at least before drywalling) and states the cost of each outlet is $16. Here's the kicker, the shiny removal tool......$40 extra

http://www.unplggd.com/unplggd/diy-p...he-wild-071169

__________________
Angus
My Albums
angus242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 01:29 PM
Confused with code requirements about structural sheathing. Clutchcargo Building & Construction 19 11-20-2008 10:17 AM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 09:37 AM
Fascia cover filled with water/ice causing leaks brianbh Roofing/Siding 10 02-11-2008 08:34 PM
1950's Roof Framing Strength KempLN Building & Construction 21 06-17-2006 11:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.