No Clue What This Is... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2012, 02:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No clue what this is...


hello everyone. i am new to the forum and would like a little bit of help. I have a bit of an old house and one of the breakers went out recently. I have never seen a breaker like this before and would like some help identifying it and some help in where to find a replacement.
Attached Thumbnails
No clue what this is...-box.jpg  
Attached Images
 

Advertisement

ryeman06g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 02:40 PM   #2
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 771
Rewards Points: 510
Default

No clue what this is...


Oh my. Is there a label on the panel that you could post a picture of? Something with a make and model number?

Is this your house's main panel? (I hope not...) or a sub-panel?

I haven't personally seen a panel like that, but I can tell you it's definitely old enough that finding replacement breakers will be difficult.

Advertisement

McSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 02:42 PM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,786
Rewards Points: 2,246
Default

No clue what this is...


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryeman06g View Post
would like some help identifying it <-- It's an antique
and some help in where to find a replacement.
On the front of the panel there should be a brand name...
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 02:42 PM   #4
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,545
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

No clue what this is...


That's a Square D XO breaker. Replacements (usually rebuilt) may be found at online breaker stores or Ebay. Best to replace the whole panel.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to HouseHelper For This Useful Post:
McSteve (01-05-2012)
Old 01-05-2012, 02:50 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No clue what this is...


I had a hardware store guy text a picture to his electrician and he said it was an old Zinsco.
the house was upgrades to 220 a few years ago. to replace the whole panel how hard would that be to do my self? or should i just hire someone?
ryeman06g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 02:52 PM   #6
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 771
Rewards Points: 510
Default

No clue what this is...


Nope, that's not Zinsco. Househelper is correct, it's ancient Square D XO. Is this your main panel, or a subpanel? That makes a big difference to how hard it would to replace. Have you done any wiring before?
McSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 02:55 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No clue what this is...


This is the main panel for the main part of the house.
3 years ago a different panel was set up for a granny flat in back of the house.

I have not done any wiring before outside of changing breakers themselves.
ryeman06g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 03:05 PM   #8
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 771
Rewards Points: 510
Default

No clue what this is...


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryeman06g View Post
This is the main panel for the main part of the house.
3 years ago a different panel was set up for a granny flat in back of the house.

I have not done any wiring before outside of changing breakers themselves.
If this is indeed your main panel, with no other main breaker ahead of it, I'm afraid you should probably start budgeting for a service upgrade, by a professional. In the meantime, you may be able to find an online retailer selling refurb'd replacement breakers. They'll be somewhat expensive.
McSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 03:08 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No clue what this is...


I appreciate the help guys
ryeman06g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 03:10 PM   #10
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 771
Rewards Points: 510
Default

No clue what this is...


Not a problem. Here's a retailer that appears to actually have some new old-stock XO breakers. http://www.relectric.com/Store/Circuit-Breakers/XO115

That one's a 15A, but they also have 20A. In your picture I can't see the amperage of the breaker you're asking about.

Best of luck whatever you end up doing. If I were you though, I would definitely starting setting aside some money for a service upgrade. I'm afraid we can't help you figure out what that might cost, but you can always call a few electricians and get some quotes.
McSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 04:55 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

No clue what this is...


Are you located in the U.S.?
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 10:45 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,703
Rewards Points: 2,366
Default

No clue what this is...


You should update your profile to include your location !
This way you can get information that is more accurate,
Because codes vary from place to place,
So we cant say for sure what applies in your area !

Advertisement

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help, have no clue what's going on. JamesB2136 Electrical 25 06-13-2011 08:01 PM
Replacement Windows? Asbestos Shingles? I have NO CLUE! Evil Scotsman Carpentry 2 10-19-2010 01:01 PM
Need some help with roof - NO clue what to do, or how.. :( AdrianVall Roofing/Siding 7 04-22-2010 09:32 PM
I have no clue what to do, NEED HELP fcarswell Plumbing 7 04-05-2010 09:00 PM
painting basement...no clue what I'm doing! mark415 Interior Decorating 2 02-28-2008 03:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts