NM Through Conduit Outside? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2010, 07:43 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,312
Rewards Points: 522
Default

NM through conduit outside?


It's alright to run NM cable in the ground outside as long as its in a conduit, am I correct?

Advertisement

BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 08:19 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,208
Default

NM through conduit outside?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueBSH View Post
It's alright to run NM cable in the ground outside as long as its in a conduit, am I correct?
It is not. NM is not suitable for wet locations. Underground is a wet location. You could use UF cable.

Advertisement

brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 08:33 AM   #3
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

NM through conduit outside?


Yes underground in conduit is wet, no romex.

You can direct-bury UF wire or use THWN wires in conduit. If you buy THHN wire in HD/Lowes, it will likely be rated for both THHN and THWN, just read the wire itself.

What's this for? GFCI protected circuit?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 10:41 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,312
Rewards Points: 522
Default

NM through conduit outside?


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Yes underground in conduit is wet, no romex.

You can direct-bury UF wire or use THWN wires in conduit. If you buy THHN wire in HD/Lowes, it will likely be rated for both THHN and THWN, just read the wire itself.

What's this for? GFCI protected circuit?

Yes GFCI protected circuit, its for an outside sump pump... the house has two of them, one is inside in the basmenet floor, the other is outside and they wired it with romex, and the romex has deteriorated very badly and it was time to do it correctly.
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 10:43 AM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

NM through conduit outside?


Check your locality, but here, a GFCI protected circuit in conduit needs to be buried 12" (non-gfci 18"). I believe UF wire directly buried has to go 18", but not certain on that.

After a tear in the UF wire that lead to my lamppost and having to dig a 40' trench to rewire...I'd never used direct bury UF again, I like individual strands in conduit.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 11:19 AM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

NM through conduit outside?


not sure what the code is where you are but if you use pvc then you don't have to go down as deep. Wether you put direct burial cable in it or thwn wires. The pvc is classed as mechanical protection. Also depends on the traffic of the area.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 11:53 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

NM through conduit outside?


If protected by GFCI before it goes underground then 12" depth
Otherwise 18" unless protected by concrete
I have UF wire, but I won't run anything without conduit
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 12:47 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Indiana, PA
Posts: 1,312
Rewards Points: 522
Default

NM through conduit outside?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
If protected by GFCI before it goes underground then 12" depth
Otherwise 18" unless protected by concrete
I have UF wire, but I won't run anything without conduit

I'm with you on that, I'd rather hit a conduit with a shovel then a UF cable with no protection over it (i guess some people put 2x4's over them?)
BlueBSH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 01:11 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

NM through conduit outside?


2x4's will rot...even PT if buried
I even put the yellow danger tape in.....2 rows actually
One above the conduit 6" I think ?
Then another Caution tape about 3" under ground


Advertisement

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
conduit


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PVC conduit - custom offset or bending tns1 Electrical 25 08-29-2011 06:56 PM
Water in conduit MYSTERY feign3 Electrical 4 03-14-2010 09:17 AM
Chicago Conduit Rules Wrigleyville Electrical 6 01-28-2010 07:49 PM
Sheathing/siding around conduit destroyer427 Building & Construction 1 10-20-2009 06:25 PM
Sealing conduit coming into house encased with waterline pacamaroman Plumbing 3 06-18-2009 09:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts