Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2010, 06:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

nm cable through cold air duct


so i was wondering how my kitchen was wired and after tracing the wires around i found nm cable running though the duct work...not perpendicular to the joists just straight running through the duct work...i hate it when people half ass ****! 20 amp circuit too!

joseph2293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 06:58 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

nm cable through cold air duct


Was this a "duct" that was created by fastening duct boards or metal over existing framing?

It is possible that the HVAC contractor showed up after the electrical rough-in and used that section of framing for his "ducts" without regard to the wiring already installed in there if this is the case.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 07:44 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

nm cable through cold air duct


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Was this a "duct" that was created by fastening duct boards or metal over existing framing?

It is possible that the HVAC contractor showed up after the electrical rough-in and used that section of framing for his "ducts" without regard to the wiring already installed in there if this is the case.
yea possibly but it looks like newer nm cable...so its a possibility but none of the cable was stapled along the way...i just pulled it through
joseph2293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 08:06 PM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

nm cable through cold air duct


maybe the guy fished it in after the rock was on and didn't realize it was a duct cavity.

maybe he was an idiot.



could have been either one.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 08:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

nm cable through cold air duct


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
maybe the guy fished it in after the rock was on and didn't realize it was a duct cavity.

maybe he was an idiot.



could have been either one.
yea either way you just dont want to find nm cable in a cold air duct...let alone a 20a circuit...ouch!
joseph2293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 09:59 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

nm cable through cold air duct


The ampacity of the circuit isn't such a concern...Doing that is bad no matter what!
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 11:38 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

nm cable through cold air duct


Quote:
Originally Posted by thekctermite View Post
The ampacity of the circuit isn't such a concern...Doing that is bad no matter what!
Yea either 15a or 20a doesn't really matter...but it was a solid 15 foot run through the cold air duct...i have a solution and want to run it by you guys to see if its acceptable...it seems it would be but not completely sure...ill post some pics later tonight
joseph2293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 07:14 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

nm cable through cold air duct


so this is what i was talking about...the 12-2 is coming in from the side of the joist goes into the cold air duct and up the wall through a fire barrier partition...so theres maybe 8" of nm cable in the air space within the cold air duct and is not touching any metal part of the duct itself...the reason i had to run it this way is that the receptacle above it is between these joists...i intend to staple later but would an inspector have a problem with this you think?

joseph2293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 07:34 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,918
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

nm cable through cold air duct


Yea. an inspector will have a problem with romex going into a metal duct.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 07:41 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

nm cable through cold air duct


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Yea. an inspector will have a problem with romex going into a metal duct.
doesn't code require nm cable to run perpendicular through the joists if it goes through a cold air duct?
joseph2293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 07:42 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,918
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

nm cable through cold air duct


Is that a metal duct, or a stud bay used as a return?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 07:45 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

nm cable through cold air duct


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Is that a metal duct, or a stud bay used as a return?
stud bay used as a return...the wire isn't touching any ducting
joseph2293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 07:55 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,918
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

nm cable through cold air duct


Quote:
Originally Posted by joseph2293 View Post
doesn't code require nm cable to run perpendicular through the joists if it goes through a cold air duct?
You are correct, so it seems this is a violation.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"

Last edited by jbfan; 03-02-2010 at 07:58 PM.
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 09:13 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

nm cable through cold air duct


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
You are correct, so it seems this is a violation.
man if it is a violation...i dont see any other way of getting wire to this without putting a hole in the wall...
joseph2293 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 09:30 PM   #15
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

nm cable through cold air duct


Oh...that's ugly.


what do you mean "fire barrier" in the wall. If that is a duct space, how would it have a fire barrier in it?


and sometimes you just have to make a hole where you didn't want to have to put one. That's the breaks.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cold air in duct in furnace room? DIYguy2000 HVAC 6 12-23-2009 11:42 AM
Duct work in garage. flashme18 HVAC 1 11-08-2009 07:29 PM
General Question about a duct lda130 HVAC 7 07-31-2009 06:24 AM
Protect Cat6 cable near AC Power Cable? mfleming Electrical 5 10-31-2008 10:04 AM
Adding a vent in cold room... AllGoNoShow HVAC 1 11-21-2006 12:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.