Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-17-2013, 10:01 PM   #16
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,947
Share |
Default

NM cable in PVC electrical conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
And these meet code how??
What do you mean?

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 11:03 PM   #17
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Default

NM cable in PVC electrical conduit


AFCIs

Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 06:36 AM   #18
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,806
Default

NM cable in PVC electrical conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
What do you mean?
An AFCI receptacle device will not meet the standard requirements of 210.12. They'll add a measure of safety, but don't meet code.

The only way they would be legal is to meet the requirements of "Exception No. 1"
Quote:
Exception No. 1: If RMC, IMC, EMT, Type MC, or steel armored Type AC cables meeting the requirements of 250.118 and metal outlet and junction boxes are installed for the portion of the branch circuit between the branch-circuit overcurrent device and the first outlet, it shall be permitted to install an outlet branch-circuit type AFCI at the first outlet to provide protection for the remaining portion of the branch circuit.
So unless the OP Is in the city of Chicago, or possibly NYC, AFCI receptacles don't meet code.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (08-18-2013), stickboy1375 (08-18-2013)
Old 08-18-2013, 07:57 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Delaware
Posts: 110
Default

NM cable in PVC electrical conduit


I'm in Delaware.
tommyxv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 12:00 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Delaware
Posts: 110
Default

NM cable in PVC electrical conduit


I removed the conduit and uses the stack clips instead. No worries about heat, de-rating, etc.

BEFORE


AFTER
tommyxv is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tommyxv For This Useful Post:
electures (08-18-2013), frenchelectrican (08-18-2013)
Old 08-18-2013, 12:24 PM   #21
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,979
Default

NM cable in PVC electrical conduit


Quote:
Exception No. 1: If RMC, IMC, EMT, Type MC, or steel armored Type AC cables meeting the requirements of 250.118 and metal outlet and junction boxes are installed for the portion of the branch circuit between the branch-circuit overcurrent device and the first outlet, it shall be permitted to install an outlet branch-circuit type AFCI at the first outlet to provide protection for the remaining portion of the branch circuit.

I see in the future this mounted next to the breaker panel:

Multiple 4 gang metal boxes with AFCI receptacles being fed with AC or MC cable and NM cable leaving to feed the house.


__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electric cable to detached garage bmorekid Electrical 5 12-31-2011 02:59 PM
Running cable in conduit Audiotekm Electrical 10 11-09-2011 10:46 PM
Spare cable inside conduit...allowed? newguynet Electrical 1 02-18-2011 09:15 AM
electric conduit fred annerino Electrical 2 01-18-2011 10:32 PM
Armored cable run outside in liquid flexible conduit m_driver Electrical 8 07-06-2008 02:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.