NM Cable Clamp For Non-metallic Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2013, 11:47 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

NM cable clamp for non-metallic box


Hello,

I am adding a switch to an indoor appliance that has no built-in on/off switch. This appliance has a dedicated 40A circuit. I would like to use Square D QO200TRNM AC Disconnect Switch:
http://ecatalog.squared.com/fulldeta...mber=QO200TRNM. I choose it because it's easy to use, compare to the pullout disconnect switch. QO200TRNM has a non metallic enclosure that can be use either indoor or outdoor. It has knockouts on side, back, and bottom:
http://download.schneider-electric.c..._Name=3104.pdf

My question is how to tie a 6/2 romex cable to its pvc case? Can I use the NM cable clamp that is normally being used on a metal box?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Advertisement

TheLeaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 12:05 PM   #2
JW
 
mm11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 194
Default

NM cable clamp for non-metallic box


Yes, you can use a metal connector with a plastic enclosure.

What's this for- disconnect for EVSE? If so, why not just use the breaker instead?

Advertisement

mm11 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mm11 For This Useful Post:
TheLeaf (06-10-2013)
Old 06-10-2013, 12:07 PM   #3
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

NM cable clamp for non-metallic box


I'm not as well versed on the NEC as some, but I can't imagine why you couldn't use a metal cable clamp like you said.

Grounding issues wouldn't be a problem since it's an isolated metal part surrounded by non-metallic parts.
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jproffer For This Useful Post:
TheLeaf (06-10-2013)
Old 06-10-2013, 03:12 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

NM cable clamp for non-metallic box


Quote:
Originally Posted by mm11 View Post
Yes, you can use a metal connector with a plastic enclosure.

What's this for- disconnect for EVSE? If so, why not just use the breaker instead?
Yes. This is for EVSE. The breaker for this circuit is in main panel, which is located the other side of my house, and it's outdoor. There is no sub-panel in garage. I would like to have a switch indoor closer to the EVSE.

Is it a bad idea to add an extra switch?
TheLeaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 05:27 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,226
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

NM cable clamp for non-metallic box


Use a 60 amp non-fused pull-out disconnect: $6 or so.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Eaton-Cut...8#.UbZEqtj9VJs
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 10:24 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

NM cable clamp for non-metallic box


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Use a 60 amp non-fused pull-out disconnect: $6 or so.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Eaton-Cut...8#.UbZEqtj9VJs
That's what I planned to buy initially. But if I do that, I will be the only person in my family that can operate the disconnect
TheLeaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:58 PM   #7
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

NM cable clamp for non-metallic box


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLeaf View Post
That's what I planned to buy initially. But if I do that, I will be the only person in my family that can operate the disconnect
Why is that? Don't think they're THAT hard to operate. I only browsed over the description, maybe I missed something...??
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 12:52 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

NM cable clamp for non-metallic box


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
Why is that? Don't think they're THAT hard to operate. I only browsed over the description, maybe I missed something...??
I agree with you it's not that hard. But for some, a switch must look like a switch.
TheLeaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 01:16 AM   #9
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

NM cable clamp for non-metallic box


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLeaf View Post
I agree with you it's not that hard. But for some, a switch must look like a switch.
LOL...got it. I was just givin ya a hard time.
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 06:12 AM   #10
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,226
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

NM cable clamp for non-metallic box


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLeaf View Post
That's what I planned to buy initially. But if I do that, I will be the only person in my family that can operate the disconnect
Get the Square D version, it actually has a switch; $17



http://www.homedepot.com/p/Square-D-...4#.Ubb3g9j9VJs
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
TheLeaf (06-11-2013)
Old 06-11-2013, 06:28 AM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

NM cable clamp for non-metallic box


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
I'm not as well versed on the NEC as some, but I can't imagine why you couldn't use a metal cable clamp like you said.

Grounding issues wouldn't be a problem since it's an isolated metal part surrounded by non-metallic parts.
You would need a bonding bushing in order to use a metal clamp on a plastic box.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
TheLeaf (06-11-2013)
Old 06-11-2013, 08:57 AM   #12
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

NM cable clamp for non-metallic box


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You would need a bonding bushing in order to use a metal clamp on a plastic box.
Thanks for that. Rather than buy 2 parts I'll probably just quit using metal on plastic lol....but still good to know.

Advertisement

jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bringing Wires into the Side of a Panel and Number of Wires in a NM Cable Clamp? Ocelaris Electrical 10 03-05-2013 08:44 PM
Is Tray Cable acceptable for Residential use? MisterSteve Electrical 43 02-21-2012 01:35 AM
Aerial Cable to Garage & Adding Sub Panel CDW59 Electrical 5 12-09-2011 07:43 AM
added circuit to panel, now how to remove the old cable clamp??????! Allthunbs Electrical 7 12-05-2011 06:47 AM
Evaluating a kinked cable dave11 Electrical 5 05-09-2010 11:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts