Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2010, 10:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Share |
Arrow

Newbie questions, subpanels


Hello,
I am extremely new to anytype of sophisticated electrical worrying soo an explanation in very simple terms would be very nice and hickey appreciated

My question

I wish to illumiate my side yard tennis court. From my limited knowledge, I believe I must install a subpanel? Am I right or wrong?

Davester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 10:19 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 25
Default

Newbie questions, subpanels


The answer to your question requires some other information but here's my thoughts on it and I'm sure that I will be corrected if I am incorrect.

How much light do you need? Is this something that you can handle with a motion sensor, dual PAR38 type light?
Do you have room in your main panel for an additional circuit if you need a lot more light?
If you do not have anymore room, and you need a large amount of circuits, then you may need to install a subpanel. Sub's aren't typically the first option unless this condition is met.

Hope that helps.

wikkie650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 06:14 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Newbie questions, subpanels


Yes, I have run out of room on the main board

I plan to use a permenent version, similar to these...4 or maybe more
http://northerntool.digby.com/shops/...7&vendorId=110


They're 500 watt each

Anything else?

Last edited by Davester; 10-29-2010 at 06:21 AM.
Davester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 09:57 AM   #4
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Newbie questions, subpanels


Quote:
Originally Posted by Davester View Post
Yes, I have run out of room on the main board
then you would need to either install a panel with more circuits as your main panel or add a subpanel.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 01:39 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Newbie questions, subpanels


dont want to sound mean but i think i already established this

I would like a basic description on installing a subpanel

thanks
Davester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 02:00 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,696
Default

Newbie questions, subpanels


http://www.dropshots.com/stubbie4#al...0Installations

This should explain everything.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 02:07 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Newbie questions, subpanels


ok thank you
Davester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 03:42 PM   #8
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Newbie questions, subpanels


Quote:
Originally Posted by Davester View Post
dont want to sound mean but i think i already established this

I would like a basic description on installing a subpanel

thanks

if you notice, I also listed an option that would remedy your situation without installing a subpanel but it will be a cold day in hell before I offer you any advice on how to do it.

you didn't ask how to install a subpanel, you asked if you needed one
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to nap For This Useful Post:
Davester (10-31-2010)
Old 10-31-2010, 07:19 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Newbie questions, subpanels


Does anyone else want to cooperate and help me out?

I'll ask the question very simply so that everyone understands.

What are the basic steps to installing a subpanel?

I understand that 2 wires must be run from my original box and connected to the sub to the "main lugs" (right?) and then a 3rd, ground wire to neutrilize the system. What else?

Oh and these are the lights I wish to use, if it makes a diffrence

http://www.homedepot.com/Outdoors-Ou...atalogId=10053

Last edited by Davester; 10-31-2010 at 07:23 AM.
Davester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 07:50 AM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,791
Default

Newbie questions, subpanels


Four wires installed by a qualified electrician, otherwisw you'll be doing a lot more worrying as your first post stated.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 07:56 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Newbie questions, subpanels


What your saying is that I require someone trained and who actually knows what they are doing?
Davester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 08:11 AM   #12
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

Newbie questions, subpanels


Quote:
Originally Posted by Davester View Post
What your saying is that I require someone trained and who actually knows what they are doing?
If you pull a PERMIT and have your work inspected and approved, no.
If you are uncomfortable working with electricity, then yes, please do call an electrician.
However...with help from the (normally) great guys here, this is an easily done project that will pass inspection.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
Davester (10-31-2010)
Old 10-31-2010, 10:15 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Newbie questions, subpanels


I am not uncontrollable but I have good realationship with my local hardware store friends. Thanks for all your help

Davester is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie with some questions about windows docnd Building & Construction 5 08-18-2010 08:08 AM
Newbie with questions about a 4 ton rheem nissan4x4 HVAC 4 05-24-2010 11:53 PM
Newbie with 1st Home New Problems New Questions Lightning#88 Introductions 0 12-15-2009 05:49 PM
Lots of newbie Concrete Fountain Questions! wps74 Building & Construction 18 08-19-2009 02:08 PM
More painting questions from a newbie. Tab1975 Painting 5 04-24-2009 11:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.