Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-05-2010, 10:01 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Newbie here finishing basement

Hey all,

Stumbled across this site. This could have the potential to be really helpful for me, so I'm going to be bold here and give a pre-emptive "thank you" to you all.

Now, onto my questions at hand. We're finishing the basement in our new (built in 2006) house and I have a few questions, which all should be really easy for the experienced sparkies here.

1. Is there any disadvantage to having a higher number of circuits? I want one circuit breaker for the office, bathroom, and bedroom. The living space (which will ultimately be a nice home theater room) has 4 walls, and I am going to put each wall on it's own circuit. My thought behind this is not only for amperage distribution (which won't be a concern really, but I'm playing a safe) but also for future troubleshooting for the next owner. If they have some sort of electrical issue and a breaker is popping, I want them to be able to very easily define which area of the basement to focus on.
  2. I saw that my mechanical room and furnace have different breakers in the panel, per code. However, I see one wire (appears to be a 14-3) coming out of the panel directly into a light box that has a light fixture with a pull rope (no toggle switch wired in yet). However, coming out of the light box are 2 sets of 14-2 wires...one continues onto the outlets in the mechanical room but the other goes to the furnace. Did they use the red wire in the 14-3 as a hot to the furnace, and then connect that to the furnace breaker while keeping the black wire on the mechanical room breaker? Seems like it would make sense as it saves them money on material...just wanted to check before I dive in on that tomorrow.