Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2008, 10:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Newbie here 100 amp subpanel


Hi great forum,
I have been surfing all the 100 amp subpanel threads. I'm very confused... I have a 200 amp service (GE main panel) and I installed a 100 amp 2 pole breaker in the main panel then ran jacketed AL 2-2-2-4 SER (per some chart in home depot) along my unfinished basement ceiling 87 feet away to a seimens 100amp (main breaker) sub panel in my attached garage. Now what I would like to use this panel for (2) 220 Welders,Miller thunder stick 225 and millermatic 200 mig (50 amp breaker for both I will only use 1 at a time) I will install 1 220 outlet and will use a flexable 25 ft 8/3 welding extension cord and 220 air compresor (40 amp breaker). Here is where I'm confused... I'm reading that AL 2-2-2-4 is only 90 amps @ 75 degrees. I was told because I didn't have it in conduit it would be 100 amps. I'm freak for doing jobs right the first time and over kill is my friend!! I just don't want to start welding and "pop" a breaker. Will it be possible to run the air compressor while welding? I may also add some bench top outlets for hand power tools. Someone put my mind at ease.... Any info would be great.

Ramblin06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 10:12 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Newbie here 100 amp subpanel


310.16 is the table you should have used to size your wire, and #2 AL. is only good for 90 amps, but I dont know the actual load of your equipment to know if thats a problem or not.

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2008, 11:32 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Newbie here 100 amp subpanel


Chris is right. Breaker popping may or may not be an issue.

If you're a newbie, and if you want to, post a picture of the wiring inside your subpanel and we can make sure you did it all safely as well.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a subpanel to a sub-panel and other questions CardinalPilot Electrical 14 03-30-2011 02:23 PM
Wiring 100A subpanel nebulous Electrical 9 08-29-2007 02:41 PM
Reverse Polarity at the Subpanel adm060306 Electrical 14 07-09-2007 12:58 PM
Subpanel over Water JPsAlias Electrical 13 06-05-2007 10:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.