Newbie - Fixing A Switch And Adding A Light - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-14-2011, 04:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Newbie - fixing a switch and adding a light


Hello -
I am replacing a dead switch - and I want to attach a new light to it.

the switch is a 3 way switch. It is at the dead end of the switch (meaning it is only one set of wires) I want to add a light to this switch so that when the garage lights are on, the outside light is on too.

The current switch has a red, black and white wire.

My current light is wired with a ground, white and black.

How would I set this up? do I need to purchase another switch and run 2 switchs? Am I making any sense?

I am thinking of connecting the blacks together, and leaving the red alone, and the whites together. and connecting the grounds. and using one wire to connect to the switch.

Am I totally confused?


YES I know to turn off the juice at the breaker!

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

telechick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 07:16 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,376
Rewards Points: 3,546
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Newbie - fixing a switch and adding a light


Your new light needs to connect into the existing light. You can not connect to this switch. You do not have the enough wires for this to work. You might be able to connect at the other switch but you can for sure connect at the existing light.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 07:29 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Newbie - fixing a switch and adding a light


O! I didn't think about that! Crap now I need to rewire as it's too short. O well- thanks! Does it matter which light I wire it to? There are 2 in the garage.
telechick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2011, 09:59 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,376
Rewards Points: 3,546
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Newbie - fixing a switch and adding a light


Does not matter. Any fixture controlled by the switches can be used s the source for the new light.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a light between a light switch and the receptacle it controls jej2csi Electrical 3 11-24-2010 08:06 AM
adding second light from a switch agsurfer Electrical 3 09-10-2010 01:01 PM
new light and switch problem please help rebelbull Electrical 1 10-02-2009 07:39 AM
HELP.. trouble adding light to single pole switch RickDel Electrical 13 09-09-2009 11:18 PM
Adding second light switch to an existing light TexasEd Electrical 7 08-15-2008 07:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts