Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-24-2010, 12:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Share |
Question

Newbie DIY


I came across a bit of a problem when I moved into my new apartment; it seems that I only have one 220/240V outlet and two appliances that need to run it on. Is there any way I can branch a wire from the original outlet to create a second one?? The appliances I will be running on it are: an electric stove and a dryer. If this is not possible, I have a theory that will employ a switch, to alternate power between the stove and the dryer. Thanks for all your answers. =D
ultimate_balanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 01:42 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Newbie DIY


A stove is usually rated for 40a or 50a, #6 or #8 wire
A dryer is rated for 30a #10 wire
You can't feed both from the same wire & breaker, will not work
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Scuba_Dave For This Useful Post:
ultimate_balanc (04-24-2010)
Old 04-24-2010, 03:09 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Newbie DIY


okay, but i am running the electric stove on the higher amp rated wire (already hooked up as standard), so my logic is that i could hook up a lower amp wire to it (and trail it to the dryer)? Does the "amp strain" on the wire/system combine if i were to do that? Again, I am no expert, so don't quote me on my newbiness. Please, could you explain this concept to me? Thanks for your last post. =D
ultimate_balanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 04:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Newbie DIY


No, you can't connect a lower rated wire
Dangerous & not allowed by code
All wire on a circuit MUST be rated for the breaker used
You can't connect the the 2 devices on the same circuit with the same breaker
You would need to install a sub-panel with 2 breakers
One 30a for the dryer & another one to match the stove
And technically the sub-panel would not meet code since both devices on at the same time would overload the sub (if 40a 240v)
30a wire to the dryer on a 40a breaker could overheat & cause a fire
Feeding 40a to the dryer could also cause a problem as it is not rated for 40a

Almost all fixed in place devices like these require dedicated circuits
One exception would be a wall oven & cooktop on the same circuit
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 04:24 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Question

Newbie DIY


Okay, so if my breaker set has a free slot for another 240v, I could technically install it with any Amp rating and # wire? How do I tell the 110v slot apart from the 240v slot, in the breaker?
ultimate_balanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 04:35 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

Newbie DIY


For the dryer you would need a 30amp double pole breakers and 10awg wire!
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 04:37 PM   #7
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,675
Default

Newbie DIY


Talk to the landlord. You should not be doing any electrical work on someone elses property, especially with know idea how to do it.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 04:44 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Newbie DIY


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Talk to the landlord. You should not be doing any electrical work on someone elses property, especially with know idea how to do it.
Me and him are good buddies... actually he wants to help me figure this thing out. Thanks for your concern, but it's generally a good idea to pick up some extra know-how along the way.
ultimate_balanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 04:49 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

Newbie DIY


Quote:
Originally Posted by ultimate_balanc View Post
Me and him are good buddies... actually he wants to help me figure this thing out. Thanks for your concern, but it's generally a good idea to pick up some extra know-how along the way.
Also messing with electrical when one or both of you have no idea is a good way to burn this house to the ground!
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 04:49 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Newbie DIY


Quote:
Originally Posted by Paelectrican View Post
For the dryer you would need a 30amp double pole breakers and 10awg wire!
yeah! I was actually wondering about that! All dryers come with a 4 pin male socket (black, white, ground and AWG - red?) What is the voltage carried through this wire? I get the jist of the double pole breaker though...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paelectrican View Post
Also messing with electrical when one or both of you have no idea is a good way to burn this house to the ground!
Before we start building/plugging anything in, we're going to get an expert to inspect it. no worries, basics are covered.
ultimate_balanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 04:59 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homestead,Pa
Posts: 109
Default

Newbie DIY


Quote:
Originally Posted by ultimate_balanc View Post
yeah! I was actually wondering about that! All dryers come with a 4 pin male socket (black, white, ground and AWG - red?) What is the voltage carried through this wire? I get the jist of the double pole breaker though...
never mind, awg is not a colored wire it is the wire size!
Paelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 05:46 PM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,675
Default

Newbie DIY


Yes sir. The basics are covered.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 06:06 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Question

Newbie DIY


Quote:
Originally Posted by Paelectrican View Post
never mind, awg is not a colored wire it is the wire size!
yeah, that's great, but what kind of voltage and amps should it carry and how do i hook it up (into which slot)?
ultimate_balanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 06:47 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Newbie DIY


The questions & statements you are making indicate that you do not know what you are doing
Where are you located ?
In many areas a homeowner/landlord is not allowed to do their own work in a multi-family/Apt dwelling
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 05:56 AM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,669
Default

Newbie DIY


ultimate_balanc, I understand you want to learn about this, but this is not your basic install. This is a very weird situation.

The problem is you are not listening to the folks who are trying to help you. They are trying to help you not kill yourself or create a hazardous condition.

You obviously have no idea what you are doing, yet you insist on trying to convince everyone to tell you what you want to hear.

Tell your buddy that this cannot be done. Tell him not to be a slumlord and get an actual professional in there to make it right. I truly do not understand why this is a problem.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
220v, branching, clueless, dryer hookup, hack job, outlet, wire


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie needs help in wiring humidifier. gm2685 HVAC 3 11-13-2009 11:40 PM
newbie HVAC troubleshooting elm66 HVAC 1 06-22-2009 08:38 PM
15 year old deck, newbie, ouch! Theron D Painting 7 08-25-2008 10:05 AM
can a newbie finish a basement... konboy Building & Construction 73 04-11-2007 06:11 PM
Newbie from East Texas Lonicera Introductions 1 12-24-2005 10:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.