Newbie 100 Amp Main Panel Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2011, 10:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Newbie 100 Amp main panel question


If a 50 amp sub panel is added to a 100 main panel, will this really solve problems of breakers tripping, not enough circuits etc. Is it worth the expense to do this or just replace the main panel with a 150 amp? Thanks for any help.

Advertisement

dan67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 10:32 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Newbie 100 Amp main panel question


Nope. Adding capacity to your breaker box will do nothing to prevent branch circuits from tripping out.

You need to split up those branch circuits if you want to eliminate nuisance tripping.

HOWEVER, if you need additional spaces for more circuits (existing panel is full), then a sub-panel or larger panel would be the first step you have to take.

So tell us: Which circuit(s) are tripping, and what is connected and operating at the time when that happens?

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
dan67 (11-28-2011), Speedy Petey (11-29-2011)
Old 11-28-2011, 11:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Newbie 100 Amp main panel question


Thanks for reply. The breakers tripping are usually from power tools table saw etc. Some one suggested I add 50 amp sub panel but with an air conditioning and stove and washing machine and other circuits wont all this be still too much for the 100 amp main panel? Is adding a sub panel just like adding a power bar to an outlet?
dan67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 11:31 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Prather California
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Newbie 100 Amp main panel question


Adding capacity will not stop a breaker from tripping.

If it was my breaker(s) that were tripping I would be asking myself:

what is on the circuit that is causing it / them to trip?
Is it a 15 amp circuit with tools and appliances pulling 15 + amps?
Is there a bad breaker?
Any loose connections?
Is the load on the panel "balanced"?
Is there any one tool that might be causing it?
What else is running when I'm trying to run the power tool?
CaptainD51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 11:33 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Newbie 100 Amp main panel question


Is the main breaker tripping?

If not it sounds like you need some dedicated circuits for your power tools, if your main panel is full or your shop is a good distance away and you want a bunch of circuits in there a subpanel would be a good way to go.

Now if your tripping out the main breaker, it is time to look into doing a service upgrade.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 11:36 PM   #6
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Newbie 100 Amp main panel question


i have a 100 amp main, it runs my dishwasher, Stove, electric hot water heater, a few window a/c units, etc.
there are no problems. you can calculate how many amps you use by the appliances wired in your house
typically they are not all running at full speed together anyway

this may seem obvious, but are the breakers large enough to run your equipment?? it's possible you're running
appliances(such as an air compresser) on too small of a breaker, or as kb says, there are too many things on a single circuit


LOL, i type too slow:D

Advertisement

MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
200A upgrade and move, backfeeding permitted? WillK Electrical 3 05-30-2011 09:00 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM
Replace main panel? And lots of other ?s Bcoleman6 Electrical 13 01-22-2008 10:40 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 09:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts