Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-26-2008, 05:35 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Share |
Question

New York City Electrical codes for Window Air-conditioners


I just rented a small one room office in Manhattan (central New York City.) Can someone confirm that the local electrical code requires a separate electircal line with its own breaker for a window air-conditioner? Thank you.

lacrossedad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 06:15 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

New York City Electrical codes for Window Air-conditioners


How big is this A/C?
More than a 12k BTU and it's likely regardless of your area.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 09:15 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Default

New York City Electrical codes for Window Air-conditioners


Quote:
Originally Posted by lacrossedad View Post
I just rented a small one room office in Manhattan (central New York City.) Can someone confirm that the local electrical code requires a separate electircal line with its own breaker for a window air-conditioner? Thank you.
Electrical codes govern the installation of electrical work, not the installation of a portable appliance. Most likely, any office in NYC will be wired with a minimum #12 awg, 20a circuit.

There is no NYC electrical code that requires an a/c outlet in a commercial space.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 09:22 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default

New York City Electrical codes for Window Air-conditioners


Thanks for the reply. Although the airconditioner came with the office, I am guessing that it is about 12,000 BTU, the office is just shy of 300 sq feet with 1 large window facing west and 3 large windows facing north. I have to check the breaker box to confirm that the airconditioner is on a separate line. Thanks for your input. Is the BTU output usually marked on the spec plate of a window unit?
lacrossedad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 03:00 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Default

New York City Electrical codes for Window Air-conditioners


Yes, but more importantly the wattage or amperage will be listed. Usually commercial leases spell out the electrical power available, does yours?
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 04:27 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

New York City Electrical codes for Window Air-conditioners


dad, you are asking this for a reason. What is that reason?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2008, 12:15 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default

New York City Electrical codes for Window Air-conditioners


I just signed a lease for a small office in Manhattan which has a window airconditioner. When I first looked at it, it appeared to be plugged into a regular wall outlet that did not look like a dedicated line. I requested that the landlord put in two more regular lines plus a deducated airconditioner line (plus paint the place, etc). After our communication yesterday, I went back to look. I see he put in a large conduit with a few outlets including the airconditioner. We went to the power pannel and they showed me the new dedicated airconditioner breaker and the other breakers. Looks like I'm set.

lacrossedad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Permits, Codes and Inspections? realeyz Electrical 1 12-28-2005 08:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.