Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2011, 10:17 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 32
Share |
Default

New wiring / old wiring / tripping breaker


Hi again,

3-way switch guy here.

I am refinishing part of our basement and I'm re-wiring all the 1955 wiring that I have access to before I rock the ceiling closed.

There are a few outlets in a 1st floor bedroom that were run in parellel in the basement (floor joists). This basement wiring went through and powered an old ceramic pull-cord light. I've removed the light/JB and ran new, continuous 14-2.

These three outlets are powered from above (wire coming down into jb from 2nd floor). "Outlet one" had the power coming down from above, and then another wire going down to the basement to power other outlets. Everything worked fine as far as I knew, i.e., the circuit had never tripped.

I finished my re-wire/installation and about an hour later the circuit tripped. Assuming my work had caused this, I went directly to "Outlet one" to diagnose. The two wires going to "Outlet 2" and Outlet 3" showed no resistance (not shorted), but there is ~340 ohms of resistance on the old wire coming down from above. If I take my two new wires off the circuit and wire only the old feed onto the outlet, the breaker does not trip.

What would be causing it to trip now given that I've added no new resistance? Is this a normal amount of resistance? Why did it never trip the breaker before? Can I not run two wires (one to each of the other outlets) from this JB? Does any of this make sense?

Sorry for the novella, and thanks in advance for any help!!


Last edited by exiledgator; 01-26-2011 at 04:36 PM. Reason: mistakenly called outlets switches
exiledgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:30 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 32
Default

New wiring / old wiring / tripping breaker


I just drew this up if it helps explain.


exiledgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:53 AM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,825
Default

New wiring / old wiring / tripping breaker


I'm confused. Are 1,2 and three receps or switches? Are the red and black wires hot and neutral? If either 1,2 or three are switches there shoulod not be neutrals connected to them.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 10:55 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 32
Default

New wiring / old wiring / tripping breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
I'm confused. Are 1,2 and three receps or switches? Are the red and black wires hot and neutral? If either 1,2 or three are switches there shoulod not be neutrals connected to them.
Oops. That was meant to clarify, not confuse.

1,2, and 3 are all outlets. I used red for neutral, cause white wouldn't show up too well on white.

EDIT - everything is grounded as well

Last edited by exiledgator; 01-26-2011 at 10:55 AM. Reason: forgot to add:
exiledgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 04:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 32
Default

New wiring / old wiring / tripping breaker


Perhaps I can rephrase my questions:

1.) Is the diagram above an acceptable way to wire these outlets?

2.) Why am I reading resistance (340 ohms) at "outlet one" on the incoming feed wire? Is that the panel?

3.) What could be causing the breaker to trip when it wasn't before?
exiledgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 08:43 AM   #6
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,539
Default

New wiring / old wiring / tripping breaker


Check any cable clamps for over-tightening... this can break thru the old insulation and result in a short.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 09:08 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 32
Default

New wiring / old wiring / tripping breaker


Thanks for the reply, HH.

There is no short in the new wiring, and that is what is causing the circuit to trip. When I hook the receptacle up with out attaching the new 14/2 feeding the other receptacles, I have no issue. Is it the way I've wired them?
exiledgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 04:16 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 32
Default

New wiring / old wiring / tripping breaker


Maybe I'll try phrasing this another way?

Is the diagram below an acceptable way to wire?:


or must I wire them like so?:


I currently have them wired like the upper diagram and the circuit keep tripping.

Thanks!!
exiledgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 10:17 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 32
Default

New wiring / old wiring / tripping breaker


Anyone? Bueller?

:D
exiledgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 10:31 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,990
Default

New wiring / old wiring / tripping breaker


Both diagrams are essentially the same. If it is tripping, you've a short somewhere.Turn off breaker and check for pinched wires, grounds shorting feeds, etc...To trip the breaker, you have a strong short circuit so you need to fix it or get in an electrician to do so. Assuming you've black (hot/feed wire) to brass screw and whites (neutrals) to silver screws on all outlets?
bob22 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 11:02 AM   #11
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,539
Default

New wiring / old wiring / tripping breaker


Does the breaker trip immediately or after a period of time? What else is on this circuit?
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2011, 01:25 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 32
Default

New wiring / old wiring / tripping breaker


I just wanted to post a thanks to everyone for their help and also post the solution.

I was getting a short on the old wire (feed) when I put everything (pigtails) back in the jb. The reason it wasn't shorting with the other lines not connected was because I hadn't bent the old line and created the short.

I climbed into attic and ran new line and all is well. (except now I discovered issues in my attic)

Thanks again!!

exiledgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC tripping breaker inside the unit lauratodd HVAC 1 09-01-2010 05:30 PM
wiring new GFCI breaker question dgates12 Electrical 8 01-07-2010 12:14 PM
Arc Fault Breaker Tripping BasementVirgin Electrical 6 10-30-2009 10:42 AM
LCD keeps tripping the breaker gencoed Electrical 6 12-13-2008 03:36 AM
HW tank breaker tripping arichard21 Electrical 6 10-31-2007 04:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.