Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-27-2006, 12:55 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

"new wiring""


:confused: Hi folks,
I plan on extending a circuit from the attic thru the fire wall into the garage, but i plan on doing it by extending the knob & tube wire coming from the panel that is not being used and just laying in the attic. can i just install a junction box in the attic and run a string of romex into the garage from the junction box. by the way the breaker for the k&t wire is off. there is no juice in the wire until you flip the breaker.
Any help i can get will be appreciated.
Hern48

hern48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 05:56 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

"new wiring""


NO, you CANNOT extend K&T wiring at ALL. Run a new circuit or find a properly grounded existing circuit to use.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2006, 06:10 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

"new wiring""


i agree with speedy pete about the knob and tube wiring system you can not extend it.

the code did explain that any new or "extened" circuits must have grounding type now days.

it is far more safer to just run new romax wire and hook up in proper way

[ dont get me wrong there are some T&K wire do have switched netural it do get spooky if not carefull ]

if you have basement you can string new romax wire to the garage but a quick head up make sure you have GFCI device in the garage [ becarefull with this if garage is attached or detached it make the diffrence with code and type of wiring methold to be used.

Merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"new switch" allen Electrical 1 02-26-2005 02:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.