Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2012, 07:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

new wires


can I run 2- #12, and 4 - #8 wires in a 1/2" conduit? 1 hot and 1 neutral #12, 2 hot ,1 neutral, and 1 ground #8? I am changing stove from gas to electric.


Last edited by Turbo; 07-11-2012 at 07:45 PM.
Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:48 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,727
Default

new wires


An electric stove only needs a 4-wire hookup, not both 120 & 240v. Are you planning on installing a microwave hood also?

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Default

new wires


there is a countertop microwave plugged into the existing outlet, so I was going to keep it live. I may be able to feed it from a different source

Last edited by Turbo; 07-11-2012 at 07:59 PM.
Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 08:18 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,727
Default

new wires


Makes it a lot clearer now. How many SABC (Small Appliance Branch Circuits) do you have already in the kitchen? Also, update with your location, and if this is a home, apt., condo, manufactured/mobile home.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 08:25 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Default

new wires


It is a single family home in Chicago, IL 1925 to 1930. The Kitchen has several circuits, but they will need to be updated when the complete kitchen remodel takes place. now we are just installing the new stove during a basement laundry room project, just under the kitchen. I am trying to get as much done for the future work as possible, I don't want to have to change the pipe and wiring twice. Thanks
Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 08:30 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

new wires


Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo View Post
can I run 2- #12, and 4 - #8 wires in a 1/2" conduit? 1 hot and 1 neutral #12, 2 hot ,1 neutral, and 1 ground #8? I am changing stove from gas to electric.
No. 3 #8's maxes out 1/2".
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 08:36 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,727
Default

new wires


Good move Turbo, doing it while you can. As for the two runs, may want to look at what you have now, and then draw out a plan, so you have an idea how things are going to turn out. Especially if you have to submit for a permit, being Chicago and all.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 08:37 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Default

new wires


thankyou!

Turbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D 3 number 12 wires equal one number 8 wire? Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-26-2011 08:00 PM
if there are red white green and black wires coming out of your walls like everywhere cray331 Electrical 3 01-17-2011 12:56 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Removing wall with wires in it jboswald Electrical 11 11-29-2009 02:55 PM
Three hot wires coming into a receptacle? Jeff DIY Electrical 10 10-07-2009 01:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.