Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2012, 02:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Share |
Default

New Well Pump wiring


We have just had a new well drilled. The wiring requirements given by the pump installer were a two-pole 30 amp breaker, and since it's about 200 ft. from the main panel, we've upped the conductor to #8-2 UF with ground. This is, I'm guessing fine for a direct 220v connection (two hots and a ground).

However, I will be building a well house around the pump and tank and have considered installing a small subpanel to add single 110v circuit for a light and pipe heater.

My question is this: Since the grounding bar for the sub-panel will be isolated from the neutral bar can I use the bare copper ground from the main panel as the neutral since the grounding bar will be bonded to a grounding rod at the subpanel? I would probably wrap the bare ground with insulating tape so it would not make contact with the subpanel box.

8-2 UF is about half the price of 8-3 UF...I'd like to save money, but I dont' want to be stupid about it.


Last edited by Randell Tarin; 08-02-2012 at 02:40 PM.
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 02:50 PM   #2
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 749
Default

New Well Pump wiring


No dice. The only safe and legal way to have 120V at the pump house is with the 8-3 UF.

McSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 02:57 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,477
Default

New Well Pump wiring


I bet conduit and individual wires will be cheaper than uf, or at least equal and allow options for the future.

Oh yea, what the mad scientist said about needing the 3 cond. and ground.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 03:41 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,028
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

New Well Pump wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
I bet conduit and individual wires will be cheaper than uf, or at least equal and allow options for the future
Ditto.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 03:48 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,259
Default

New Well Pump wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randell Tarin View Post
We have just had a new well drilled. The wiring requirements given by the pump installer were a two-pole 30 amp breaker, and since it's about 200 ft. from the main panel, we've upped the conductor to #8-2 UF with ground. This is, I'm guessing fine for a direct 220v connection (two hots and a ground).



What is the HP of the pump?

#8 AWG with a 1/2 HP pump can be used up to 1610' with proper voltage drop...

7 1/2 HP pump maxes out at 200' with # 8AWG., just to give you a little perspective on your wire selection choice.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 08-02-2012 at 03:59 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 03:58 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,259
Default

New Well Pump wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randell Tarin View Post
We have just had a new well drilled. The wiring requirements given by the pump installer were a two-pole 30 amp breaker, and since it's about 200 ft. from the main panel, we've upped the conductor to #8-2 UF with ground.

I dont think I would let a well pump installer tell me how to size the breaker or wire...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (08-03-2012)
Old 08-02-2012, 04:07 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Default

New Well Pump wiring


It's a 2 HP pump.
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 04:10 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Default

New Well Pump wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
I bet conduit and individual wires will be cheaper than uf, or at least equal and allow options for the future.

Oh yea, what the mad scientist said about needing the 3 cond. and ground.
So, if I already have the 8-2 UF and am going to run it in conduit, I could use a single #8 wire run in the same conduit as my neutral?
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 04:10 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,259
Default

New Well Pump wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randell Tarin View Post
It's a 2 HP pump.
#12 AWG is good for 250', but were talking from service entrance to the actual well pump.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 08-02-2012 at 04:14 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 04:13 PM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,259
Default

New Well Pump wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randell Tarin View Post

However, I will be building a well house around the pump and tank and have considered installing a small subpanel to add single 110v circuit for a light and pipe heater.
So if you did this, would the light only turn on when the well was running? What i'm asking is, where are the pump controls located? At the pump house?
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 08-02-2012 at 04:16 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 04:23 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Default

New Well Pump wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
So if you did this, would the light only turn on when the well was running? What i'm asking is, where are the pump controls located?
They'll be attached to the wall of the well house, I'm guessing.

I'm talking about a separate 110v circuit off of a subpanel. I have the wiring for the pump (to be installed next week) It will be laying on top of the ground until I get my plumber in here to trench and connect the well to my plumbing. I'm going to then place the electrical conduit with the requisite wire in the same trench.

I was just wondering if I could use the bare ground for the neutral since it would not be bonded to the ground at the subpanel. Obviously, it will need to be insulated to keep it from touching the sides of the box enclosure. I thought maybe I could have a section of insulated #10 wire pig-tailed to the ground in a non-conductive junction box outside of the subpanel. Then have the insulated wire entering the subpanel attached to the isolated neutral bar. The other end of the bare ground is going to the grounding/neutral bar in the main panel where both grounds and neutrals terminate anyway.
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 04:24 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Default

New Well Pump wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
#12 AWG is good for 250', but were talking from service entrance to the actual well pump.
#12 isn't rated for 30 amp is it?
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 04:26 PM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,259
Default

New Well Pump wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randell Tarin View Post
#12 isn't rated for 30 amp is it?
Thats not how it works, the pump itself contains the overload protection, the 30 amp breaker is only for ground fault and short circuit protection.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 04:30 PM   #14
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,259
Default

New Well Pump wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randell Tarin View Post

I was just wondering if I could use the bare ground for the neutral since it would not be bonded to the ground at the subpanel.
Absolutely NOT!



Quote:
Originally Posted by Randell Tarin View Post
I thought maybe I could have a section of insulated #10 wire pig-tailed to the ground in a non-conductive junction box outside of the subpanel. Then have the insulated wire entering the subpanel attached to the isolated neutral bar. The other end of the bare ground is going to the grounding/neutral bar in the main panel where both grounds and neutrals terminate anyway.
No... you need to buy the correct wire for the job.... Personally, I would just buy some 12-2 UF at this point, and use it for the light, of course, now you have a structure and other violations will follow. So really, the thing to do is go buy some XX-3 UF wire.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 08-02-2012 at 04:33 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 08:03 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Default

New Well Pump wiring


[QUOTE=stickboy1375;979980]Absolutely NOT!


I don't understand why.

The ground will not be coming from the main panel. It will be attached to the grounding bar in the subpanel that is grounded by a separate grounding rod at the subpanel. The two panels will not be metallically bonded.

The wire running from the main panel would be isolated and insulated from the sub-panel box on the neutral bar. It is attached at the main panel to the common/neutral ground bar.

How is this any different from having a separate neutral running from the main panel? If the bare ground is pig-tailed to an insulated section of #10 wire at both ends, then why could it not serve as the neutral? It's insulated from beginning to end.

As long as the neutral and ground are isolated at the sub-panel, I can't see how this is any different than running 8-3 w/ ground to the subpanel since the ground is going to be essentially unused.


Last edited by Randell Tarin; 08-02-2012 at 08:07 PM.
Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Well Pump wiring question gfreely232 Electrical 24 04-16-2012 03:13 PM
Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit RoberTX Electrical 26 07-05-2011 11:43 PM
Swimming Pool Pump & Salt Water Ctlr Wiring brianr Electrical 1 06-27-2011 06:02 AM
Which diagram to use on Lenox Thermostat wiring setup? Heat Pump Lenox techs needed twilightcall HVAC 1 08-13-2008 11:49 AM
Wiring 240v pump to generator - URGENT Benchr Electrical 4 12-19-2006 05:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.