Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2011, 03:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 60
Share |
Default

New Well, Pump & Pressure Tank


Last fall I had to put in a new deep water well between two cabins that are a family summer place.

Because 24" deep trenches to both cabins were available, I extended the pump power line (dedicated circuit: UF 2x
#12 wG) from one cabin out to the pump and over to the other cabin. I thought it would be good to have a "pump power status light" in the other cabin to show that power was on to the pump -- it's just a little LED in a box. I also am not sure which cabin ultimately will supply power to the pump -- after some major remodeling. With cable coming to/from both cabins, I can change my mind later. There is no connection to the electrical system in the 2nd cabin.

But yesterday I came across a posted comment "the code prohibits multiple circuits going to outbuildings". Does my indicator light on the extension of the pump power cable to the 2nd cabin violate the code?

Thanks,
Daneel

Daneel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 04:15 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,868
Default

New Well, Pump & Pressure Tank


I don't know the "code" answer, but in this case I would say, who cares? Hardly a safety issue.

md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 04:50 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,864
Default

New Well, Pump & Pressure Tank


You can run switch loops or switched lines for lights from the second building back to the first building but the power for these subcircuits should come from the second building.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2011, 03:39 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 60
Default

New Well, Pump & Pressure Tank


I have a 20A @ 240 VAC circuit going from the main panel in cabin #1 to an outside pressure switch for a submerged well pump (in a sheltered enclosure) and continuing on to a LED in a box in cabin #2. The sole purpose of the LED is to show that pump power is on. Cabin #2 has its own main panel.

I am planning to install a 2-LED indicator box in cabin #2 to show that septic system power is on. Septic power (two 20A @ 120 VAC circuits) will go from cabin #1 to a septic control panel (in a sheltered enclosure) and will continue on to the dual-LED box in cabin #2.

There is no connection between LED boxes and the main panel in cabin #2.

Just wanted to be sure this is copasetic with the code.

Thanks,
Daneel
Daneel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
well pump


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about well pressure tank Bahuffma General DIY Discussions 6 05-16-2011 02:23 PM
amtrol pressure tank pump is shutting on and off shulsbos Plumbing 3 08-01-2010 08:53 AM
booster pump/ water pressure problem harpua103 Plumbing 3 12-30-2009 03:26 PM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
No water pressure in my pressure tank GordH Plumbing 6 05-18-2008 11:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.