Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2009, 11:16 AM   #31
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Share |
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post

But I think that would need to be at 18" depth?
Are you talking about burial or in conduit?

ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 11:19 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by ctsmiths View Post
Are you talking about burial or in conduit?
I'm not sure - I'm asking, 120v can be 12" if GFCI 1st

It's my understanding anything else must be deeper?
And that depth can depend upon if it goes under a sidewalk, driveway etc. And you are not required to bury as deep if you pour concrete over the lines (which again varies based on concrete thickness)
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 11:30 AM   #33
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I'm not sure - I'm asking, 120v can be 12" if GFCI 1st

It's my understanding anything else must be deeper?
And that depth can depend upon if it goes under a sidewalk, driveway etc. And you are not required to bury as deep if you pour concrete over the lines (which again varies based on concrete thickness)
If you have a code book its table 300.5 if not, yes, it depends on where it is and how the conductors are protected, either by raceway or concrete ect..

ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Stove, old wires - 2 wire vs 3 wire DIYGST Electrical 22 03-02-2009 04:13 PM
Will reverse polarity trip breaker?? Duane 70 Electrical 60 12-05-2008 10:18 PM
Paint Ground Wire kevin0 Electrical 4 02-10-2008 10:39 PM
smoke alarm - ground wire Potomac101 Electrical 7 02-06-2008 07:25 AM
Can you wire a 3-way circuit with 2 wire + ground mnyman2003 Electrical 8 12-04-2007 08:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.