Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2009, 09:52 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


can 2- 220 electrical wires be installed in same ditch and be touching or do they need not to touch before i cover with dirt.

eddie brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 10:03 AM   #2
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


Are the cables Direct Burial type cable?

ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 10:05 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


i need to install two seperate 220 underground wiring need to know if i need seperate trenches or can these wires touch in the same trench . wiring is desinged for underground .
eddie brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 10:06 AM   #4
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


And what are you feeding with them?
ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 10:08 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by ctsmiths View Post
Are the cables Direct Burial type cable?
yes cable is !
eddie brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 10:12 AM   #6
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


OK. what are the 220 cables feeding?
ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 10:13 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by ctsmiths View Post
And what are you feeding with them?
30 amp
eddie brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 10:21 AM   #8
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


If they are for the same circut they have to be in close proximity, ( like if you use both cables to feed one piece of equipment) ,if not they don't.
ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 11:35 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


My Inspector wouldn't even allow (2) 120v 20a UF circuits protected by GFCI before going in the trench to share the same trench
I'd check with your Inspector 1st
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 03:11 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
My Inspector wouldn't even allow (2) 120v 20a UF circuits protected by GFCI before going in the trench to share the same trench
I'd check with your Inspector 1st
What crack pipe is he on?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 03:21 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
My Inspector wouldn't even allow (2) 120v 20a UF circuits protected by GFCI before going in the trench to share the same trench
I'd check with your Inspector 1st

Wow...I bet he doesn't allow romex fished through walls.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 05:32 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


I wasn't going to argue with him
When I 1st called & said I was running UF 20a 12" down that would be GFCI protected, 1st they said I couldn't do that. Then I quoted the specific code out of NEC. They said they would have to call me back

They called back & said I could run 1 line per trench
If I ran (2) circuits they said someone digging could hit 240v
Waddya gonna do
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 05:35 PM   #13
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
I wasn't going to argue with him
When I 1st called & said I was running UF 20a 12" down that would be GFCI protected, 1st they said I couldn't do that. Then I quoted the specific code out of NEC. They said they would have to call me back

They called back & said I could run 1 line per trench
If I ran (2) circuits they said someone digging could hit 240v
Waddya gonna do

Yeah... tell them to educate themselves, Perfect example why some people dont get permits, the people inspecting are no smarter than the guy doing the install.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 05:38 PM   #14
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


Well that makes some sense... That exception to allow UF at 12 inches specifically limits it to 120v 15 or 20 amps GFCI. So it's not too off the wall. At 24 inches he would have probably allowed you to fill the trench up with as many as you wanted.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 05:42 PM   #15
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

new under ground 220 electric wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
Well that makes some sense... That exception to allow UF at 12 inches specifically limits it to 120v 15 or 20 amps GFCI. So it's not too off the wall. At 24 inches he would have probably allowed you to fill the trench up with as many as you wanted.

It makes no sense what so ever, do you think 120 is more safe or less safe than 240?

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Stove, old wires - 2 wire vs 3 wire DIYGST Electrical 22 03-02-2009 04:13 PM
Will reverse polarity trip breaker?? Duane 70 Electrical 60 12-05-2008 10:18 PM
Paint Ground Wire kevin0 Electrical 4 02-10-2008 10:39 PM
smoke alarm - ground wire Potomac101 Electrical 7 02-06-2008 07:25 AM
Can you wire a 3-way circuit with 2 wire + ground mnyman2003 Electrical 8 12-04-2007 08:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.