Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-20-2006, 09:29 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 17
Share |
Question

new thermostat


I want to put in a programable thermostat to replace my normal round one. My question is, it says for most 220volt systems. It looks like my oil furnace is 120v, but the central air seems to be 220. they both run off of the same thermostat. Is my system 120volts or 220 volts? I,m confused!
pappabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 12:09 PM   #2
Master Craftsman
 
Big Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southwest Mo.
Posts: 289
Default

new thermostat


To make it simple, it is both. You are correct, the furnace fan will run on 110 volts and the condensor outside runs on 220 volts. But those don't matter as the thermostat is low voltage, more than likely 12 volts. When you pull the thermostatl off of the wall there will be some very small wires run to it. All you need to do is to note which color wire is run to which terminal. The terminals will have a color letter stamped on it and normally the correct wire color is run to the correct color stamped screw. Beside the screws will be a r for red, w for white and so forth. If the same color is on the right screw all you need to do is transfer from one thermostat to the other. However in some circumstances they will put the wrong color wire on the wrong screw so note which color wire is to which color stamped screw and move that wire to the same screw on the new thermostat.

Hope this helps. You might want to wait for some other answers though.

Dave.
__________________
Do one thing at a time, do it well, then move on.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Big Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 06:54 PM   #3
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Default

new thermostat


What for kind of goofy stat did you get? Please post the model and manufacturer.

HVAC thermostats are 24 volt, with the exception of baseboard heating thermostats. They are 120 or 240.
mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 08:10 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 17
Default

new thermostat


My mistake! I didn't buy one yet, but downloaded the manual. I thought it read 120 or220 instead it said 24 volts.
pappabear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NOMA Thermostat brobinson68 HVAC 5 01-17-2007 02:36 PM
Noma Thermostat vs Old Thermostat diywoman Electrical 2 01-04-2007 01:02 PM
Thermostat question ctown HVAC 7 12-05-2006 03:46 PM
2 stage heat thermostat problem W1 AND w2 wires whatdoIdonow HVAC 6 11-26-2006 12:04 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.