Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2011, 03:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New/Temp service disconnects question


Does the following seem legal / reasonable for new construction on a large rural lot?

Power comes in via overhead line to a "yard pole" which currently only has an empty meter socket. My house will be built about 70 feet away from the pole, and I may build another garage or shed or barn on the lot sometime in the future, so it's handy to have the yard pole as a central power distribution point.

My idea is to install an outdoor 200A main breaker at the pole to serve as the main disconnect, which would be required due to distance to the house anyway. I would also like to have a smaller "temporary construction" outdoor box which has two 20A GFCI breakers and covered-in-use outlets. Would it make sense to install the 200A main breaker at the same time I install the "temporary construction" box so it's there long before construction even begins on the house?

boschblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 10:44 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

New/Temp service disconnects question


I will rephrase my long rambling question above: My new meter socket is located on a pole on my new rural lot. I will eventually be building a house and shed. For now I want some temporary 20A outlets on the pole. Can I / Should I have a 200A main breaker in its own outdoor box, followed by indivdual 20A breakers in their own outdoor box which would feed GFCI covered-in-use outlets? The 200A main would probably be overkill but I'm thinking about a minimal number of disconnects and a simpler way of connecting the house once built.

boschblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 11:24 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New/Temp service disconnects question






Install a meter main. These can be fed overhead or underground. The bottom portion has a 200 amp main breaker, feed thru lugs for your house and 6 breaker spaces for other loads.

Doubtful you'll find it at a box store so contact a wholesaler.
code_compliant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 12:39 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

New/Temp service disconnects question


Quote:
Originally Posted by code_compliant View Post




Install a meter main. These can be fed overhead or underground. The bottom portion has a 200 amp main breaker, feed thru lugs for your house and 6 breaker spaces for other loads.

Doubtful you'll find it at a box store so contact a wholesaler.
They sell them at Home depot and Lowes around here and they are inexpensive. I saw one (200 amp) at Home Depot for around $100.00. Meter main is the way to go. Especially since this is a pedestal service.

Remember you can only take one 4 wire feeder or branch circuit to each structure. One for the house and one for an outbuilding or other structure you may have.
You will be able to use main lug panels for the house and other structure.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 01:41 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New/Temp service disconnects question


[quote=J. They sell them at Home depot and Lowes around here and they are inexpensive. I saw one (200 amp) at Home Depot for around $100.00.
You will be able to use main lug panels for the house and other structure.[/quote]




At $100 I'm not sure you have the right panel. Got a part #?. If you use an MLO panel you'll need a seperate service disconnect for each structure even though your need for overcurrent protection is satisfied. Put simply just use Main breaker panel.

Last edited by code_compliant; 03-12-2011 at 01:42 PM. Reason: grammar
code_compliant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2011, 02:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 104
Rewards Points: 77
Default

New/Temp service disconnects question


Like this one?

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053

davido30093 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
service entrance grounding question Trailblazer Electrical 9 05-23-2010 02:53 AM
Service Entrance Question KempDobro Electrical 10 04-06-2010 11:36 PM
general service panel question about ground / neutral BlueBSH Electrical 3 03-17-2010 07:55 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 11:31 AM
How can I determine service amperage? dawho1 Electrical 13 04-07-2008 11:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.