New Telephone Line - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2010, 11:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

New telephone line


I want to run a new telephone line in my basement. ive checked my other telephone lines and ive seen that their's a blue and white wire with the power coming in. Can i just buy the regular telephone line wire with the red/green/black/yellow wire? Or do i also have to run that blue and white wire?

Advertisement

humberguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 12:01 AM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New telephone line


electrons don't care what color the wire is




is this for just a phone or phone and DSL?

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 12:03 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

New telephone line


just a telephone line, not for internet.
humberguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 12:12 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New telephone line


The blue pair of wires are commonly the first pair in the sequence of twisted pair cables. If you want to install a short run of straight (not twisted pairs) wire, it should provide satisfactory phone (voice) use.

Red connects to the blue wire.
Green connects to the white wire.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 12:14 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New telephone line


Please be sure and buy cat3 or 5 station wire.
So many folks think the flat wire used for cords from phone to jack are suitable, it is not.

Like above, coler does not matter, but it does make it simple.
Also make sure you use the same colors at both ends.
May sound funny but I have seen it.

Do not get the punch down type jacks, screw terminals work best.
bjlffire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 12:18 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

New telephone line


cat3/station 5 wire. Is that blue/white only? Or is it the green/red/black/yellow wire?
humberguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 05:52 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New telephone line


The Blue/White pair of wires are twisted pairs which is what is commonly used in CAT-3 and CAT-5 cables.

The Green/red/black/yellow wires are not twisted pairs and is the old-type of phone wiring. It can be subject to cross-talk, and other interference since the conductors are straight.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 09:40 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

New telephone line


thanks guys for your help, i got it now
humberguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 09:51 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,007
Rewards Points: 2,080
Default

New telephone line


Stay 6" away from AC cable or you'll get static.

Be safe, Gary
__________________
If any ads are present in my answer above, I do not condone/support/use the product or services listed, they are there against my permission.
Gary in WA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 09:55 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 364
Rewards Points: 250
Default

New telephone line


I'd like to chime in: The colors in cat-3 are blue/blue-white/orange/orange-white

The blue-white and orange-whites look alike at first glance, so pay attention to them. Blue/blue-white is equivalent to red/green.
Tonglebeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 12:09 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

New telephone line


thanks for the help, i didnt think about static occuring from the electrical lines being so close to the telephone lines.

One more thing. I have a bunch of electrical lines around the area where i want to run the telephone line. Is their some kind of like insulation i could put between the telephone line and the electrical line to avoid the static.

Last edited by humberguy; 03-26-2010 at 12:12 PM.
humberguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 12:52 PM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New telephone line


buy a shielded cable instead of regular. I'm no phone expert but if it works anything like Fire Alarm equipment does then if you install a twisted shielded cable and connect the shield to a source or ground then it should catch all those stray magnetic waves and send them to ground before they induce any sort of static into the phone line.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 12:55 PM   #13
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New telephone line


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
buy a shielded cable instead of regular. I'm no phone expert but if it works anything like Fire Alarm equipment does then if you install a twisted shielded cable and connect the shield to a source or ground then it should catch all those stray magnetic waves and send them to ground before they induce any sort of static into the phone line.
shielded cable is obviously an option but it is way overkill for a phone line. Only recently have I been seeing data cabling being spec'd with shielded cable and that is generally in some special situations.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 01:01 PM   #14
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New telephone line


would a plain old twisted cable be suficienct then? i know that will do alot to negate the noise...i only spent 8 months working in the comm sector so my knowledge on this stuff is a little limited.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 01:59 PM   #15
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New telephone line


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
would a plain old twisted cable be suficienct then? i know that will do alot to negate the noise...i only spent 8 months working in the comm sector so my knowledge on this stuff is a little limited.
Many companies I know will use cat3 cable for telephone lines and cat5e or better for data lines. Most larger jobs spec it as to what the owners requirements demand and since costs come in to play, if they only spec cat3 for phone lines, that is generally what they get.

On small jobs where the price difference is not so noticeable and since phone lines are are commonly used for DSL internet services now, if it isn't spec'd, I tend to lean towards cat5e simply to avoid any problems, if it is my choice.

Advertisement

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
telephone line humberguy Electrical 8 12-11-2009 04:15 PM
Do I need to prime my oil feed line? 1parkpointer HVAC 3 10-22-2009 07:52 PM
Testing Home Telephone Line kirridam Electrical 4 08-02-2009 08:39 PM
Capacity loss with line size Einride HVAC 1 06-29-2009 04:10 PM
Telephone line static without external filters installed Unregistered Electrical 5 11-21-2004 01:38 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts