Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-03-2008, 07:17 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

New Subpanel Almost works

I am not an expert, I'm using books and the Lowes "expert". I just installed a subpanel in the shed. It is an Eaton 70amp and has no grounding bar. I ran 10/3 from the main house panel to the shed with the black wire in one main lug and the white wire in the second main lug and the ground in the neutral buss bar. I put in a 20amp breaker connected by a 12/2 wire, with the black wire to the breaker and the neutral and ground together in the neutral bus bar, to the swimming pool pump and receptacle on the deck. I hooked in a switch and it works like a dream. The second breaker has 14/2 wire, again hooked by the black wire to the breaker and the white and ground to the neutral bar, which controls two receptacles and two lights in the shed or rather it doesn't. I have no power in the shed. No lights, no receptacles. When I do a continuity test on the 14/2 from the breaker I get good continuity but no power. I've changed the breakers with no luck. I did have a bad switch but that's fixed. I have no power to the receptacles or lights. I'm really confused since I have half of it working.

soccio97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 07:42 PM   #2
Electrician

Rewards Points: 1,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by soccio97 View Post