New Sub Panel For Garage... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-22-2011, 02:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Sub Panel for Garage...


Hello Everyone, i'm new on the forum. Short story, bought my house last year and want to add electricity to my garage which is located 90ft from my home. From what I was seeing I have a square D main panel in my house. I recently purchased a murray 125amp, 8 space, 16 circuit indoor nema type 1 panel.

I mainly want electricity for a millermatic 211 Auto-Set with MVP mig welder with the following specs:
Input Power
230 V, 25 A, 60 Hz, 1-Phase
120 V, 20 A, 60 Hz, 1-Phase

My main panel looks like this:


My second (sub) panel looks like this:


Anyway, I was told to run the following:
Feed Sub panel with a 60 amp 2 pole breaker & 6/3 wg Cable (another electrician stated 6/2 wg cable).
Use a 30 amp 2 pole breaker using 8/3 cable for the welder receptacle.

For the lights I will be using 14/2 cable with 15 amp and for the receptacles I will be using 12/2 cable with 20 amp (this I have done before as I added lighting and receptacles to my home already).

Now, I went to homedepot and noticed that they sell a 6/3 wg cable ($215) and a 6/2 wg cable ($148). What's the difference between both other than the price and also what's the difference between 8/3 and 8/2 cable?

Sorry for the long story, I want this to be my weekend project.

Thanks for the help guys... I'll be posting progress pictures.

Advertisement

Nacho78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 04:08 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

New Sub Panel for Garage...


A cable sold as xx-2 has two conductors, a black and a white along with a ground. A xx-3 cable adds an insulated red in addition to the black, white and ground.

The XX represents the wire gauge or size.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 05:14 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Sub Panel for Garage...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
A cable sold as xx-2 has two conductors, a black and a white along with a ground. A xx-3 cable adds an insulated red in addition to the black, white and ground.

The XX represents the wire gauge or size.
So which would be best to install in your opinion? 6/2 or 6/3?
Nacho78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 05:32 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

New Sub Panel for Garage...


With 6/2 you will get 120v, or 240 without a neutral.
6/3 will give you 240/120v.

I would use conduit and individual conductors instead of cable.

You will also needs ground rods and a disconnect for the garage.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (11-22-2011)
Old 11-22-2011, 05:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New Sub Panel for Garage...


Since you need to run a ground from the main panel as well, you will need 4 wires. Perhaps you should consider burying conduit and runnning indvidual wires. This would give you more circuit protection and the ability to upgrade if and when your needs change.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 05:44 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Sub Panel for Garage...


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
With 6/2 you will get 120v, or 240 without a neutral.
6/3 will give you 240/120v.

I would use conduit and individual conductors instead of cable.

You will also needs ground rods and a disconnect for the garage.
Awesome thanks
Nacho78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 05:55 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Sub Panel for Garage...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Since you need to run a ground from the main panel as well, you will need 4 wires. Perhaps you should consider burying conduit and runnning indvidual wires. This would give you more circuit protection and the ability to upgrade if and when your needs change.
So basically run 3 6 gauge wires from the main to the sub instead of 6-3?
Nacho78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 06:08 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

New Sub Panel for Garage...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nacho78 View Post
So basically run 3 6 gauge wires from the main to the sub instead of 6-3?
And a #10 ground wire.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 06:19 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Sub Panel for Garage...


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
And a #10 ground wire.
Cool thank you what'll happen if I run a #6 ground?

Also I this the cable to buy if I go with this option?
6 gauge stranded THHN cable?

Last edited by Nacho78; 11-22-2011 at 06:28 PM.
Nacho78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:17 PM   #10
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

New Sub Panel for Garage...


You could run #6....but a #10 or #8 is all that is required....and you will need a THWN. Any wiring used underground, in conduit or not, must be marked as for use in wet locations.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2011, 08:37 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Sub Panel for Garage...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
You could run #6....but a #10 or #8 is all that is required....and you will need a THWN. Any wiring used underground, in conduit or not, must be marked as for use in wet locations.
Awesome thanks!
Nacho78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 07:23 AM   #12
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

New Sub Panel for Garage...


If you're going to pull separate #6 wires through conduit, the neutral has to be white (can't use black and re-mark it) and the ground has to be green or bare. You'll also need a couple ground rods for the detached building.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 03:55 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Sub Panel for Garage...


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
If you're going to pull separate #6 wires through conduit, the neutral has to be white (can't use black and re-mark it) and the ground has to be green or bare. You'll also need a couple ground rods for the detached building.
sweet thank you very much... I think i'm going to go with 6-3 to make it easier lol...
Nacho78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 07:04 PM   #14
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

New Sub Panel for Garage...


you're not allowed to use type NM(romex) underground, it must be type UF cable
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 10:11 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Sub Panel for Garage...


alright guys, question... i'm going to go buy the cable tomorrow, can I use this one? I was reading that thhn can be used as thwn nowadays.

This link is the one i'm thinking of buying:
Southwire 500 ft. Black 6-Gauge Stranded THHN Cable
For use in wet or dry locations at temperatures not to exceed 194 degrees Fahrenheit (90 degrees Celsius) or not to exceed 167 degrees Fahrenheit (75 degrees Celsius) when exposed to oil or coolant

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...kuId=202895699

Thanks for the help, all of you have been very helpful.

Nacho

Advertisement

Nacho78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Sub Panel Questions mscanlon01 Electrical 3 07-20-2011 11:03 AM
Panel cleanup gdoucette Electrical 5 06-26-2010 03:01 PM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 03:15 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 04:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts