Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-17-2005, 09:37 PM   #1
2pyrs
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: N.E.Ohio
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New stove wiring black,red,white where.


Need to know what wire gos where in main box. Bought a new electric stove and have it all set up at the receptacle end and new 4 prong plug. #6 -4 wire but not sure about where the red, black, white wire go when connected to 50 amp breaker. I know that the plain copper wire goes to the bus bar; does the white also go to the bus bar and the red and black go to the breaker or dos the white and black go to the breaker and red to bus bar? I am going for the black,red to breaker and white to ground ( bus bar).


2pyrs

2pyrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 09:47 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Woodbridge,Va
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New stove wiring black,red,white where.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 2pyrs
Need to know what wire gos where in main box. Bought a new electric stove and have it all set up at the receptacle end and new 4 prong plug. #6 -4 wire but not sure about where the red, black, white wire go when connected to 50 amp breaker. I know that the plain copper wire goes to the bus bar; does the white also go to the bus bar and the red and black go to the breaker or dos the white and black go to the breaker and red to bus bar? I am going for the black,red to breaker and white to ground ( bus bar).


2pyrs
Is it a wall unit or a stove/range?The white is the neutral and if you are using a sub panel it has to go with the other whites on a seperate bus bar from the grounds.If you are coming out of a main panel the grounds and neutrals share the bars.

donkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 11:13 AM   #3
2pyrs
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: N.E.Ohio
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New stove wiring black,red,white where.


New stand alone stove,new 200 main box new 50 amp breaker and #6 wire.
All up and running

Thanks guys
2pyrs
2pyrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring stove outlet in old house electric-pete Electrical 23 07-06-2008 03:02 PM
Coal Stove Hood Devil505 HVAC 1 12-06-2006 05:32 PM
Three electricans said it was impossible! Tom Electrical 35 04-29-2006 05:06 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 07:52 PM
Stove wiring? OSt8Pokes Electrical 2 03-01-2005 05:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.