Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2012, 02:45 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New shop electrical service.


I am putting in a new shop, which is to have separate 200 Amp service. My house currently has 2x200 Amp panels, fed from the transformer (pad) about 200 feet away.To bypass the charge for an additional meter, the PUD (Clark PUD in Vancouver, WA) has said they will install a CT meter at the transformer, and remove the one on the house.

Doing this, I need only one meter. The shop is about 120 feet from the transformer in a different direction from the house.

PUD and L&I (electrical inspector) says I need only 4/0 triplex to the shop panel, and do not need a disconnect. Knowledgeable people at the electrical store say I need an additional ground wire + triplex from shop to transformer and a disconnect near the transformer! Was planning on not hiring an electrical contractor

Question is if I need only the triplex to the panel at the shop. Plus, do I need a main lug or main breaker panel, or does it really matter?

Thanks,

Todd

Newbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 07:18 AM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New shop electrical service.


You do not need a disconnect at transformer, triplex is fine. It is a service connection, not a feeder.

I assume PUD will tie the triplex to their transformer.

You will need a Main breaker panel or a fused disconnect and MLO panel at the shop unless you have less than 6 breakers in your panel.

You will need a grounding system at the shop, 2 rods is common and the water pipe if it exists and is metallic. Since the shop is new put in an UFER and no rods will be needed.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 01:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New shop electrical service.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
I assume PUD will tie the triplex to their transformer.
Yes, PUD will do everything on the transformer end of the triplex.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
You will need a Main breaker panel or a fused disconnect and MLO panel at the shop unless you have less than 6 breakers in your panel.
Sounds like I need a main breaker. Aside, the Siemens P2040L/P3040L are convertible from ML to MB. What does it take to do that?

Thanks again,

Todd
Newbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 02:47 PM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New shop electrical service.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Newbomb View Post
Sounds like I need a main breaker. Aside, the Siemens P2040L/P3040L are convertible from ML to MB. What does it take to do that?

Thanks again,

Todd
Buying the breaker separate from the panel is going to be way more expensive, but to answer your question: you simply buy a 200 amp breaker that is correct for your panel and install it across the buss bars. It will take up 4 full spaces, 2 on each side.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:41 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New shop electrical service.


Actually, I decided the 3040 panel was way too big for a 30x40 shop, and found a g2040b1200cu with main breaker for $89. I guess all panels these days are invertible (bottom feed) so I am set.

Thanks again,

Todd
Newbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:44 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

New shop electrical service.


Not true. You could only invert it if the MB turned on/off sideways. The MB can not be orientated so that when you push it down, it turns on the panel...only up or sideways.

(that is why we cannot (in the US) mount panels sideways like the do in Canada)
k_buz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 06:16 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New shop electrical service.


Yes. I verified that. Seems to me that all Siemens panels I looked at were configured this way. Did not see a single vertical breaker.
Newbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 07:34 PM   #8
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New shop electrical service.


Lemme guess- you found it at Home Depot? Not commenting-just curious. I did a match google search and that is what I got.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 09:54 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New shop electrical service.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Lemme guess- you found it at Home Depot?
Nope. Grover Electric. Don't shop at Home Depot when I may actually need advice.
Newbomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:10 AM   #10
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New shop electrical service.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Newbomb View Post
Nope. Grover Electric. Don't shop at Home Depot when I may actually need advice.
Never get advice from any big box store and many supply house clerks are no better. If I may point out your supply house told you that you needed an extra wire and disconnect.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I have any more electrical service capacity? (Power for Shed) Magnus357 Electrical 7 10-13-2012 09:52 AM
Need advice for a combination service electrical entrance rlrobinhood Electrical 2 04-21-2011 08:56 AM
electrical service line bmancanfly Electrical 4 07-21-2009 08:07 PM
Help with electrical service hookup near meter! jayp Electrical 12 03-26-2009 12:05 AM
electrical service to barn bsteven Electrical 1 04-18-2005 09:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.