Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-09-2009, 12:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

New service ground


I'm install a new 100 amp service to a detached garage. I'm installing a grounding rod and need to know the proper installion. I've heard tying to the meter, or to service panel through pvc conduit, and various other techiniques on forums. I just want the correct way to ground a new 100 amp service. I have no plumbing at the garage either. Thanks

mark1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 01:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

New service ground


You should use a 4 wire feeder. H-H-N-G. The ground goes to the ground terminal strip in the panel and from there to one or two ground rods. You cannot run the ground (GEC) separate from the feeder. It all must be in one conduit or cable. You need a #8 green or bare and #3 for the hots and neutral, if they are copper. This ground/bonding wire needs to have the same potential as your service bonding grid.
If you are not under the 2008 code cycle 3 wire feeders are allowed. I would still use a 4 wire feeder regardless.

Ps..Connect the ground in the main panel the same way. To the grounding terminal strip.


Last edited by J. V.; 06-09-2009 at 01:30 PM.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 01:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default

New service ground


I'm using #2 copper for 2 hots and 1 neutrals. I used a 5/8 x 8' grounding rod and using a #6 bare ground. When connecting the ground in the panel do I need to separate the neutrals on one side and grounds on the other or do I just connect the #6 bare ground with my #2 copper neutral. Thanks
mark1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 09:55 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default

New service ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by mark1 View Post
I'm using #2 copper for 2 hots and 1 neutrals. I used a 5/8 x 8' grounding rod and using a #6 bare ground. When connecting the ground in the panel do I need to separate the neutrals on one side and grounds on the other or do I just connect the #6 bare ground with my #2 copper neutral. Thanks
DO NOT connect your neutral and ground wire under the same terminal. These need to be isolated from each other. Your "bare grounds" (EGC's) and neutrals from your branch circuits also need to be isolated. Oversizing your conductors as you have is a good thing, not a code violation.

Good luck.
__________________
Union County, NJ, Licensed Electrician
Classic Electric, LLC, Rahway, New Jersey
Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 10:14 PM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,526
Default

New service ground


The OP says he ran just three wires, which if he is still under the 05 Code and has no other metal pathways, is compliant. In this case the neutral and ground are bonded, just like a service entrance.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 10:24 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

New service ground


Quote:
I'm using #2 copper for 2 hots and 1 neutrals.
You should have 2 hots, a neutral and a #8 ground. Even if you are not under 2008 code, it's the right way to do it.

The ground rod wire and equipment groind from the panel go to a ground bus along with all the groind wires in your garage circuits.

The neutral bus in the garage panel must be isolated from the enclosure and the grounds.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 12:01 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

New service ground


OP. Have you already installed the feeder? If you only have three wires, Househelper provided your answer. If you have not installed/buried the feeder, please use 4 wires. H-H-N-G.

If you installed a 3 wire feeder you cannot bring any other metallic pathways from the main service structure to the unattached structure. Metal water lines, Telephone lines and any and all other metallic pathways will be prohibited.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 04:14 PM   #8
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 978
Default

New service ground


As others have stated the nec recently switched from 3 wire to 4 wires in this situation. Either way you should also drive 2 ground rods

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Service entrance ground size ? banks10 Electrical 4 12-18-2008 05:20 AM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM
Nuetral from feeder cable to main panel question? TW Lucas Electrical 14 05-08-2008 11:33 AM
Sub panel grounding sluggermike Electrical 27 11-11-2007 01:23 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.