New Service In Fixer Upper - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-14-2011, 04:06 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
Question

New Service in Fixer Upper

I am and will be looking for various types of advice. As the eldest of 5 - as a child I helped my father build the addition onto the back of previous home as well as work with other projects. In short I have some knowledge yet am by no means an expert.

the question is on a fixer upper 2 Unit APT bldg (turning into single family) total of 10 rooms including kit & bath. I have a carriage house over garage that will need demolished - reframed and ultimately have utilites in it.

Can someone please tell me with only 100 AMPS coming in from the pole - IF I need a 150 AMP panel box?

Would 150 AMP service panel be overkill or Am I on the right track to avoid future costs? To be run -general appliances, forced AC/heat/, treadmill eleptical machines, TV, and 2 computer servers. These are the largest power hungry items to be in use.

I had been considering the 150 because I will add the carriage house to the line in the future - I wanted to leave room for growth and I dont want to ultimately do the same work twice.... Would like to be able to run a service line from one structure to another and start wiring in the future.

Please help?

Advertisement

ToriW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 04:44 PM   #2
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO

Rewards Points: 250

100 amp most likely would be ok, but a load calc needs to be done. If upgrading I would go 200 amp.
The cost in materials from 150 to 200 is small.

Advertisement

NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 04:54 PM   #3
Retired from the grind

Rewards Points: 2,450