Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2007, 11:32 AM   #1
skeptical
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

New service entry in correct location?


I just had a new service entry put on my house to upgrade to 200 amps for a new central AC.

When I got home, I saw that the electrician had put the pole up through the soffit and the roof (as discussed). However, it looks as if he forgot the valley of the roof was diagonal and is now awfully close to the open valley between the shingles (he's got the pole about six inches off the centerline, but he had to cut through the 24" valley flashing). It's flashed and sealed up, but he had to cut the corner off the service entry flashing so as not to block the valley.

Is this ok? Will it pass code when we have our inspection? He thinks so, but I'd rather not fail inspection and have to redo it. I've already had enough trouble with the city over my projects.

Also, is there any way to fix this short of moving the box? Can the pole have a couple of 45 degree bends in it to move it a foot away from the valley, or must the pole be straight? I know it has to be rigid conduit above the roof...

Fortunately I haven't replaced the roof yet, but I will probably have to in another five years.
Attached Thumbnails
New service entry in correct location?-newservice3.jpg   New service entry in correct location?-serviceroofdetail3.jpg  


Last edited by adamselene; 05-10-2007 at 02:48 PM. Reason: add photo
adamselene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2007, 06:29 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,557
Rewards Points: 42
Default

New service entry in correct location?


I don't think it will be a problem for the electrical code. Don't know about the building code however.

joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 10:12 PM   #3
Electrical contractor
 
RobertWilber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Philadelphia area
Posts: 44
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New service entry in correct location?


I can't see any electrical issue that arises from the placement of the mast.
RobertWilber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 06:27 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New service entry in correct location?


I love the photos. They make seeing what you are talking about so easy..

Putting an offset (couple 30 deg bends) in the conduit would be difficult in the short distance you have between the top of the panel and the sofit.

I also think it looks fine from what we can see, if the flashing from the conduit was layered properly over and under the existing roof. If you are concerned you need to get a roofer to examine the flashing to see if it is indeed water tight.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
200 amp panel with a 100 amp service? alexz Electrical 10 07-29-2007 10:00 PM
upgrading service cable Clutchcargo Electrical 1 06-22-2007 10:04 AM
Service upgrade rondo Electrical 1 05-21-2007 06:19 PM
Suspected open/loose service neutral mrtomwj Electrical 5 09-28-2006 08:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.