Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2012, 10:27 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 377
Share |
Default

New Service Entrance Cable to be installed. Upgrade to 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeboo25 View Post
Is that common with all POCOs, or maybe something specific to your area? Do they charge to replace the meters, line wires or whatever?...
When I upgraded mine, I was told that a wire from the pole to meter was POCO's responsibility (if it needed to be upgraded) but I had to pay for a new meter.

allthumbsdiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:55 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VA
Posts: 47
Default

New Service Entrance Cable to be installed. Upgrade to 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by allthumbsdiy View Post
Unless the house already has a standalone disconnect, don't you have to pull the meter out to replace the main panel?

I consider myself to be fairly handy but that is where I draw the line about what I should not do.

Besides, where I live, only a licensed electrician is allowed to pull a meter...
No doubt. I'm fine changing outlets or running new cable on the inside, but I'm going to leave this one to the professionals.
Joeboo25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:18 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Default

New Service Entrance Cable to be installed. Upgrade to 200amp?


I don't know how far you're allowed to go with a homeowner's permit.

The POCO's responsibility ends at the triplex or quadruplex splices. The wire, conduit, and meter base all belong to the homeowner and therefore is his or her responsibility.

Many large North American cities are upgrading to smart meters which are universal up to 200A, so if you see that coming in the near future for your area, you won't have to purchase a new meter (which I believe can cost into the thousands for digital meters )

If you're so inclined (and permitted by law), pulling a meter is just a little bit more intense than pulling a cord out of a receptacle - easy way to save a grand or so! Once you pull the meter, you don't have to worry about a live panel, so the rest of the work should go fast and easy.
fdiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:38 PM   #19
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

New Service Entrance Cable to be installed. Upgrade to 200amp?


[quote=fdiddy;1013432] Once you pull the meter, you don't have to worry about a live panel, so the rest of the work should go fast and easy.[/quote]


What does that have to do with changing the SE?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:45 PM   #20
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,011
Default

New Service Entrance Cable to be installed. Upgrade to 200amp?


The price difference between a 100A load center vs 200A is maybe $20......The wire? Ok...that is maybe another $50 (on a bad day)...

Overall, the price difference between 100A vs 200A is maybe $100.....

Labor is basically the same.

So...do it now.........but if you decide to do it later....you are basically starting over.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 04:16 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 22
Default

New Service Entrance Cable to be installed. Upgrade to 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
The price difference between a 100A load center vs 200A is maybe $20......The wire? Ok...that is maybe another $50 (on a bad day)...

Overall, the price difference between 100A vs 200A is maybe $100.....

Labor is basically the same.

So...do it now.........but if you decide to do it later....you are basically starting over.
This is not really accurate.

In general, you can expect to pay anywhere from $500 to $1,200 more for a new 200A SE service than a 100A SE service. A large franchise electrical contractor may very well charge $1,500+ more.

I hate when people start picking apart prices of material like that and try to regionalize a low price, it simply won't work on anyone except for a Craigslist handyman.

Home Depot did this to us, customers see that 30' of romex is $20, a box is $2, a breaker is $4 so when we try to charge $300-400 for a new receptacle they think we are insane or trying to steal from them. They don't realize all the other costs of doing business.
ItsaSpider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 05:32 PM   #22
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,372
Default

New Service Entrance Cable to be installed. Upgrade to 200amp?


I just did my service. The 4/0 wire for 200A service was too big a diameter for my old meter box and my old breaker panel. Had to change out everything. Home owners are allowed to do their own work here in Dayton so the cost was not that bad around $1000 for the 30/40 panel, new meter box, 2 1/2" conduit, and cable.
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 06:16 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 22
Default

New Service Entrance Cable to be installed. Upgrade to 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by PoleCat View Post
I just did my service. The 4/0 wire for 200A service was too big a diameter for my old meter box and my old breaker panel. Had to change out everything. Home owners are allowed to do their own work here in Dayton so the cost was not that bad around $1000 for the 30/40 panel, new meter box, 2 1/2" conduit, and cable.
Why would you use 2.5" pipe?
ItsaSpider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 07:01 PM   #24
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 222
Default

New Service Entrance Cable to be installed. Upgrade to 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsaSpider

Why would you use 2.5" pipe?
Cause thats what poco around hear requires for mast poles
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 07:08 PM   #25
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

New Service Entrance Cable to be installed. Upgrade to 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsaSpider View Post
Why would you use 2.5" pipe?
The POCO here always requires a larger pipe (3") from the pole to the service....then they reduce it at the pole. It's their thing I guess.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 07:11 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 22
Default

New Service Entrance Cable to be installed. Upgrade to 200amp?


If that's what the PoCo wants, then that's what they get. I just can't see a reason why. None of the PoCo's around here require that and I've installed countless 2" RMC masts without a single issue.
ItsaSpider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:04 AM   #27
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,372
Default

New Service Entrance Cable to be installed. Upgrade to 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ItsaSpider View Post
If that's what the PoCo wants, then that's what they get. I just can't see a reason why. None of the PoCo's around here require that and I've installed countless 2" RMC masts without a single issue.
It was 2" here too not that long ago.
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 02:52 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: VA
Posts: 47
Default

New Service Entrance Cable to be installed. Upgrade to 200amp?


Well, the electrican quoted $1100 additional for the upgrade. Sounds like you guys were in the ballpark. I don't know how much he is charging to do just the cable yet, so I'm not quite sure how he squares up with the local market. I don't like putting out that much without a couple estimates, but technically he's the seller's contractor at this point so I'm limited.

I'm also going to see how much extra he'd charge to just use 200 amp cable.

This whole area upgraded to digital (smart?) meters a couple years ago, so I assume that expense isn't on the list.

Last edited by Joeboo25; 09-21-2012 at 03:03 PM.
Joeboo25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 03:17 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 377
Default

New Service Entrance Cable to be installed. Upgrade to 200amp?


I think my upgrade cost around $2250 back in 2006 (new service riser, masthead, conduit, main panel, breakers, ground).

Few suggestions:

1. If you plan on adding circuits yourself in the future, I would also take some now to research panels to see which you would prefer (Cutler Hammer, Square D Homeline, Siemens, etc; I ended up choosing Square D QO series);

2. Maybe pros can weigh in but if I had to do it over again, I would get a separate main disconnect from the meter. That way when I am adding a circuit, I know the panel is 100% de-energized.

3. I would make sure the SE cable enters from the top. My electrician ended up routing it from the bottom of the main panel and it severely limits the working space on the side where 2 wires are.

Congrats on your home purchase and good luck!
allthumbsdiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 03:18 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 377
Default

New Service Entrance Cable to be installed. Upgrade to 200amp?


Quote:
Originally Posted by PoleCat View Post
I just did my service. The 4/0 wire for 200A service was too big a diameter for my old meter box and my old breaker panel. Had to change out everything. Home owners are allowed to do their own work here in Dayton so the cost was not that bad around $1000 for the 30/40 panel, new meter box, 2 1/2" conduit, and cable.
polecat-

how did you change out the meter box? isn't service riser energized?

allthumbsdiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving electric service entrance to detached garage WillK Electrical 7 10-05-2011 10:13 PM
service entrance question brianpk Electrical 5 05-22-2011 09:44 PM
200 amp service entrance cable size Chuck S Electrical 7 01-08-2011 10:17 PM
upgrading service cable Clutchcargo Electrical 1 06-22-2007 10:04 AM
Service upgrade rondo Electrical 1 05-21-2007 06:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.