Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2008, 10:12 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Service Drop


I need to run a new 200 amp service line with 3 conductors from pole transformer to a cabin/house about 570' away. The line will be aluminum and due to amp drop will need to be at least 500 MCM. My question is there a jacketed line that can be buried directly saving on schedule 40 conduit and would it be worth it?
The conduit will still be needed for the risers, but if direct bury will pass code in NYS it would save on the labor of threading conduit the full length. Thank you for any feedback you can give.

derby1251 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 10:54 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

New Service Drop


Some questions:

-Where are you getting your information from?

-Where are you located?

-What are you basing the 500mcm on? I assume you mean 500mcm aluminum?

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 11:42 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

New Service Drop


Who's going to hook up your service latteral to the transformer. Not you I hope! Shouldn't the power company be responsible for the latteral? (the conductors from the transformer to your meter panel)? Homeowners and electricians don't make these connections, the POCO does, at least every place I have lived and worked. Now, you may have to pay them if this is a special situation as it seems it is.
Get on the phone with them and get this straight, then let us know what comes of it.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 05:26 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Service Drop


According to National Grid in Western NY, I am responsible for trenching and running the line, once building inspector gives OK, National Grib will then make connections at the pole and meter.
Is there an aluminum service line that can be buried direct without a conduit?
I was told because of distance and voltage drop a gauge of 500MCM, 3 conductor aluminum cable for a secondary direct bury would be needed.
derby1251 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 06:25 PM   #5
electrical contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia USA
Posts: 181
Rewards Points: 150
Default

New Service Drop


Using my voltage drop calculator, to keep under 3% drop you do need to run 500mcm copper, this is for a 200 amp load at a distance of 570 feet with a voltage of 240. This will be very expensive, can the POCO get the transformer closer to you? It is always better to let them come to you if they will.
__________________
Jimmy

Life is tough, Life is tougher when you are stupid.
wire_twister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2008, 07:20 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

New Service Drop


In my part of NY they would not likely let you go 570' with secondary. You would need primary to get you within 250' (or less) of the service.

We can go over 250' with larger secondary, but 570' is a LOT over.

Whatever you do, clear it with Nat Grid first.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 05:54 PM
How can I determine service amperage? dawho1 Electrical 13 04-07-2008 10:10 AM
Pot lights in a drop ceiling Howdy Electrical 3 03-14-2008 08:23 PM
200 amp panel with a 100 amp service? alexz Electrical 10 07-29-2007 10:00 PM
Suspected open/loose service neutral mrtomwj Electrical 5 09-28-2006 08:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.