Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 02:06 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Smile

New service conductor?


Aloha all from Hawaii! Just bought a 40 year old townhouse (six side-by-side units) with all aluminum wiring. Going to change the panel (old and rusted) to the same amperage (100amps) rating, and replace all wiring. Going to follow the same plan as before. Power goes to a meter and service disconnect on the outside of the building, then to my breaker panel inside my home.

Here's my question--do I need to change the the wire coming into the panel in addition to the new panel?

Much mahalo (thank you/with love in Hawaiian) to you construction experts!!!

fire96825 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 02:09 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: new mexico
Posts: 344
Rewards Points: 250
Default

New service conductor?


unless your code is differnt i belive you will have to upgrade to 200 amp, and it would just make sense to upgrade anyway.

redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to redman88 For This Useful Post:
fire96825 (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 02:15 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New service conductor?


Does the NEC require new work to be upgraded to 200amps?
fire96825 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 02:19 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: new mexico
Posts: 344
Rewards Points: 250
Default

New service conductor?


i am not sure, i just know that the house we are getting ready to buy is going to be upgraded from 100 amp to 200amp as part of the sell, because i dont want less than 200 amps and the rest of the eletrical is out of date but the new main panel will be out side and the rest of the house will be updated at a later time.
redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 06:41 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

New service conductor?


No, there is nothing that mandates you upgrade to 200A.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
fire96825 (10-06-2012), Speedy Petey (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 06:53 AM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

New service conductor?


No .
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
fire96825 (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 06:58 AM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

New service conductor?


No, not at all. A load calculation would determine this.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
fire96825 (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 07:07 AM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

New service conductor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by redman88 View Post
unless your code is differnt i belive you will have to upgrade to 200 amp, and it would just make sense to upgrade anyway.
There is no such code. Kbuz is correct.
Please check your fact before giving advice like this.


In your case it was just a pre-sale strong-arm to get a free 200A upgrade out of the seller.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
fire96825 (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 07:09 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,042
Rewards Points: 3,748
Default

New service conductor?


Please don't make multiple threads about the same subject. threads merged.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
fire96825 (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 07:15 AM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

New service conductor?


Did you buy 1 unit, or the whole thing?
In many places, an owner can not do electrical work on a multi family dwelling.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 08:02 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

New service conductor?


Am upgrade from 100 amps to 200 amps may require replacement of the service entrance cable from the utility pole and/or the cable from the meter box to the panel. It depends on the thickness of those wires.

If the cables need replacing but are not, then you don't really have an upgrade.

In some cities the owner (without a license) may not do his own electrical work in a multiple dwelling unit even if he owns the whole thing.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 10-06-2012 at 08:05 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
fire96825 (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 01:28 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New service conductor?


Thank you all!!! Greatly appreciated!!!
fire96825 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 02:32 PM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

New service conductor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by redman88 View Post
unless your code is differnt i belive you will have to upgrade to 200 amp, and it would just make sense to upgrade anyway.
Why 200 amps?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 06:59 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: new mexico
Posts: 344
Rewards Points: 250
Default

New service conductor?


Why would I want 100 amps. Its a 2600 sf home. Also found just this afternoon at the home inspection I have one of these electrical panels in the house. http://inspectapedia.com/fpe/fpe.htm
redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 07:48 PM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

New service conductor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by redman88 View Post
Why would I want 100 amps. Its a 2600 sf home. Also found just this afternoon at the home inspection I have one of these electrical panels in the house. http://inspectapedia.com/fpe/fpe.htm
Because that's what the house came with. WHY in the world should the seller treat you to a 200A UPGRADE?

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
panel upgrade, same amperage, service entrance cable


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help installing new service and making old service a sub panel fightermage Electrical 9 09-26-2012 09:48 PM
A discussion on the Proper grounding for portable generators Stubbie Electrical 41 07-05-2012 11:15 PM
Service mast options bsperr Electrical 6 12-09-2009 09:48 AM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 11:31 AM
2x100a sub on service main jambud Electrical 17 03-12-2008 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.