Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2012, 05:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

New service 320 amp meter


Hi, I hope this makes sense. My wife and I are in the process of building a new house on our current lot. We currently live in our pole shed on our lot which we are building on. When we built the shed the electric company advised us to put a 320amp meter in so we could eventually run two 200 amp panels but pay only one service charge.

Now we are to the point that we are ready to run power to the new house. The meter is currently on the pole shed and is about 15ft from the transformer. We are fine with everything staying on the shed as is. The meter is already set up with dual lugs. The new panel will be in the basement on an exterior wall. I am wondering what I need to do to run power up to the house. I have talked to 3 different electrical contractors and they all say it has to be done differently.

My main questions are do I need to run a new ground up to the new house or are two hots and a neutral fine?

Also, do I need to have a disconnect? If so where should it be located, the shop or house?

Any and all tips and advice is appreciated. Thanks.
F350tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 06:14 PM   #2
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,513
Default

New service 320 amp meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by F350tony View Post
Hi, I hope this makes sense. My wife and I are in the process of building a new house on our current lot. We currently live in our pole shed on our lot which we are building on. When we built the shed the electric company advised us to put a 320amp meter in so we could eventually run two 200 amp panels but pay only one service charge.

Now we are to the point that we are ready to run power to the new house. The meter is currently on the pole shed and is about 15ft from the transformer. We are fine with everything staying on the shed as is. The meter is already set up with dual lugs. The new panel will be in the basement on an exterior wall. I am wondering what I need to do to run power up to the house. I have talked to 3 different electrical contractors and they all say it has to be done differently.

My main questions are do I need to run a new ground up to the new house or are two hots and a neutral fine?

Also, do I need to have a disconnect? If so where should it be located, the shop or house?

Any and all tips and advice is appreciated. Thanks.
Is the house attached or detached to the house?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. All other states click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online motor calculator
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online calculators
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 06:45 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Default

New service 320 amp meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Is the house attached or detached to the house?
You make NO SENSE here!
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 07:22 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default

New service 320 amp meter


The pole shed which we are currently living in is a separate building then the house we are building. Thanks again.
F350tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 07:33 PM   #5
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,513
Default

New service 320 amp meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky

You make NO SENSE here!
Oh crap! Attached to the shed? Duh!
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. All other states click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online motor calculator
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online calculators
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 07:33 PM   #6
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,513
Default

New service 320 amp meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by F350tony
The pole shed which we are currently living in is a separate building then the house we are building. Thanks again.
At least you understood me.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. All other states click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online motor calculator
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online calculators
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 08:45 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 6
Default

New service 320 amp meter


We live in st croix county wi if that helps.
F350tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 10:09 PM   #8
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,513
Default

New service 320 amp meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by F350tony
We live in st croix county wi if that helps.
Two hots and a neutral to the 200a main breaker panel in the house. Provide a grounding electrode system at the house.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. All other states click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online motor calculator
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online calculators
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 06:24 AM   #9
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,052
Default

New service 320 amp meter


I would put a fused disconnect by the meter for the house.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 07:06 AM   #10
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,671
Default

New service 320 amp meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793 View Post
I would put a fused disconnect by the meter for the house.
I agree and then use a 4 wire feed to the house. By "fused disconnect" we mean a breaker.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 08:13 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 833
Default

New service 320 amp meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I agree and then use a 4 wire feed to the house. By "fused disconnect" we mean a breaker.
I would choose a fused disconnect in this case.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 09:16 AM   #12
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,513
Default

New service 320 amp meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by Julius793
I would put a fused disconnect by the meter for the house.
I disagree. Why?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. All other states click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online motor calculator
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
. Online calculators
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 11:24 AM   #13
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,052
Default

New service 320 amp meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
I disagree. Why?
Well luckily it's a free country
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 12:17 PM   #14
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,671
Default

New service 320 amp meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
I would choose a fused disconnect in this case.
How many homeowners would have spares or even know how to identify and replace a blown fuse
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2012, 01:51 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 833
Default

New service 320 amp meter


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
How many homeowners would have spares or even know how to identify and replace a blown fuse
Well.....I really don't know how to answer that and I should have kept my trap shut. I know I wouldn't bother with having spare fuses around because if one blew it would most likely mean I would need more things than just fuses. Maybe even sunglasses and burn cream.

I see it as a convenience item that would never be operated unless I'm replacing the feeder or panel. Being outdoors it seems to me that fuses would be more reliable in the long run.

I don't think I would install any sort of disconnect unless code required it.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some questions on a new service zappa Electrical 3 11-27-2011 01:30 PM
New service Help (Meter can/ service mast Conduit help) cwolford Electrical 13 03-26-2011 07:55 PM
Remodel - Moving from 200 amp service to 320 amps stevedar Electrical 20 11-29-2009 08:14 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM
New Service msagers Electrical 1 02-13-2008 02:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.