Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-28-2008, 02:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

new sconces wont turn off????


I replaced the old wall sconces and now the new ones wont turn off with the wall switch. We just bought the place and I am not sure which light switch controls them, but I am assuming one of them does. Is there anything in the wiring that I may have hooked up wrong? I didnt mess with the switch; only replaced the sconces.

The one light box closest to the switches had two sets of wires coming in. The farther sconce had three sets of wiring coming in.

Please help.

Thanks in advance.

ripnlip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 03:58 AM   #2
Contractor - Renovations
 
fungku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 260
Rewards Points: 0
Default

new sconces wont turn off????


By sets I'm assuming you mean the standard 2 conductor wires with a black and white in each set? There are no reds?

Also, just two sconces, correct?

It is hard to say what each set of wires does because who knows how they are wired. If you go to your hardware store and get one of the voltage testers that light up and beep when placed next to a wire with voltage I can help walk you through it. You should be able to get one for under $10

unless one of the many other people on this forum have a better idea.

there are other ways that I won't go into because of safety issues

fungku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 04:08 AM   #3
Contractor - Renovations
 
fungku's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 260
Rewards Points: 0
Default

new sconces wont turn off????


if all the wires were "joined" previously, there must be something else that turned on and off with that switch?

2 in one box and 3 in the other? this is driving me nuts The only thing that makes sense to me is this (all speculation of course):

the box with 3 sets:
1) the constant hot
2) a "switch leg"
3) the wire to the 2nd light

the box with 2 sets:
1) wire from the other light
2) wire going out to the other thing that is switched

Last edited by fungku; 07-28-2008 at 04:10 AM.
fungku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 05:57 AM   #4
Whatamess
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 423
Rewards Points: 0
Default

new sconces wont turn off????


If they were working before then you know you have something wrong. You will read here many many times to always mark your wires. Follow Fungku and you can figure it out.
__________________
I may go home hungry, but not tired and hungry.
TazinCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comfortmaker furnace won't turn on steelframe8459 HVAC 36 11-30-2011 03:22 PM
hot water knob wont turn all the way cloud Plumbing 4 06-27-2008 08:19 PM
Help Please, Furnace won't turn on lh0628 HVAC 8 10-09-2007 03:07 PM
Main valve not working. Water won't turn on! skellies Plumbing 1 10-31-2006 02:17 AM
Faucet won't turn off etiger Plumbing 1 08-31-2005 02:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.