New Range Wiring - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2008, 03:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Range Wiring


We're about to remodel our kitchen and want to swap out the separate electrical cooktop and electric wall oven with a free-standing dual fuel range. The new range states that a dedicated circuit with a 40A breaker and #8 wire is required. The existing cooktop and oven are wired with separate 2-30A ganged circuit breakers each with #10 red and black wire. I want to avoid pulling new #8 wire if at all possible due to limited access. Is it possible to rewire the four (2 x 2-30) circuits into a single 40A circuit and hardwire it into the new range? If not, any other suggestions short of pulling new wire? Thanks.

Advertisement

c086473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 04:33 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New Range Wiring


Sorry. You really need to pull a new circuit for this.

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 04:34 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 200
Rewards Points: 150
Default

New Range Wiring


Absolutely NOT.
Pull new cable, and make sure it is 8/3 with a ground.
JGarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 03:16 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Range Wiring


Thanks for the good advice but it looks like it is a moot point. Upon closer inspection, I noticed that the solid wire conductors inside the exising BX attached to the electric rangetop looked larger than the ones connected to the electric oven even though they both were hooked to identical 30A breakers. I measured them both: the oven was .10 dia (#10) and the range was .13 dia (#8). I guess when I had the panel upgraded 5 years ago, the electrician didn't have/was to cheap to install 40A breakers for the rangetop circuit leading to my initial dilemma.
Since the new range calls for a dedicated 220V/40A/#8circuit, all I need to do is swap out the 30A breakers for 40's plus it leaves me with the remaining two #10 circuits to use for as new dedicated microwave and dishwasher circuits. What's the best way to verify that the old BX is grounded?
c086473 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 09:50 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

New Range Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by c086473 View Post
What's the best way to verify that the old BX is grounded?
Look for a thin aluminum strip inside the sheath of the BX. If the strip is there, the BX is listed for grounding. In that case check the connectors to make sure they are tight. Without the internal strip, the BX is not an approved ground.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Range Outlet Receptical Wiring - PICS nave Electrical 45 05-29-2008 07:37 PM
GE Range wiring? 4-wire to 3-wire DPH Appliances 6 02-24-2008 03:38 PM
Range Wiring jasjks Electrical 2 09-01-2006 12:37 PM
Electric Range Wiring manhattan42 Electrical 11 07-05-2006 06:03 PM
Range Wiring merlin Electrical 1 11-20-2005 12:00 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts